Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Washer won't spin

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 mej284

mej284

Samanera

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 29 May 2007 - 02:00 AM

I have a Whirlpool Stylemaster Topload Washer.  I believe the model no is #4214289.

The problem is Wash cycle and agitation works fine when it removes the water to go into the rinse cycle it works fine.  I here the pump kick in and the tub slowly spins as it gets rid of more water tub spins faster.  But when the washer gets to the final spin cycle after the last rinse cycle.  The washer starts to add a little water, (Iassume this is done to balance the load), I see the agaitor turn about a quarter turn and then I see the tub try to turn but doesn't and here them motor make a louder hum as if it is binding.  Then the overload trips and I have to wait for the overload to reset.

I can then place the timer anywhere and the washer will work on any portion of the cycle but the final spin cycle.  Any Ideas?

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Poobah

Poobah

Sensei

• Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts

Posted 29 May 2007 - 03:20 AM