Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.

Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

To get started, click here.

Already a member of Appliantology? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Kenmore 110.78322700 dryer intermittently lights and smell gas inside drum

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 hammer340

hammer340

Unsui

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 November 2008 - 10:45 AM

Hi all! This is my first time posting. Nice to meet you all!

Trying to save some money, I purchased a used Kenmore dryer that was in storage for about a year (so they told me). I hooked up the dryer and it seemed to operate fine until I opened the door and smelled gas in the drum. The clothes were dry and felt somewhat warm. Also, it took longer than normal to dry the clothes.

I lifted the top while it was running and noticed the igniter would glow but didn't always ignite the gas. The igniter would cycle a few times and eventually ignite. The times it didn't ignite was when I smelled the gas. From this behavior, it seemed like there was weak gas flow. So, I checked the flex line and all the way up to the gas valve screen to make sure there were no obstructions. Which there weren't.

After reading several post of similar problems, they suggested replacing the gas valve coils. I purchased and replaced the coils but it didn't fix it. 

I replace the igniter not because I suspected it was bad but because I broke it (doh) checking the pipe for obstructions.

The radiant sensor seems to be working because the igniter cycles and I measured it with an ohm meter. When cold, it was closed and when hot, the circuit opened.