Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Digital multimeter recommendation?


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 crosstalk

crosstalk

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:33 AM

Can someone recommend a good multipurpose DMM that can do capacitance measurements.  I have been looking at the Fluke 902, but I am wondering if others have better/cheaper recommendations.

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,151 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 30 July 2009 - 03:02 PM

Fluke 116 is great for Appliance and HVAC work. You can look for the older model Fluke 16 on ebay to save some green.
" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#3 crosstalk

crosstalk

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 31 July 2009 - 05:39 AM

Thanks.  The 116 looks more versatile than the 902--just lacks the amp clamp.  But I suppose there are cheap clamp meters to cover that need.

#4 denrayr

denrayr

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts

Posted 31 July 2009 - 09:01 PM

fieldpiece sc67. i beat the crap out of mine and it keeps going. i have one that i retired and made a spare because i dropped it in a washer full of water. it still works perfectly after drying it out, but i was nervous it wouldnt last so i bought a new one. you cant beat the price either http://cgi.ebay.com/Fieldpiece-SC67-Clamp-On-Meter_W0QQitemZ390068184329QQcmdZViewItem
RedRock Appliance Service

435-773-7838

www.redrockrepair.com

Serving St George and Southern Utah

#5 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,151 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 01 August 2009 - 03:10 AM

The Fluke meters are tough as hell, they hold up under hard use. The 116 will read capacitors to 9999 uf, so you can check those run and start capacitors for their true capacitance. The big display and back-light feature are nice to work with.

It's just nice to work with a quality tool you can trust.

For a clamp-on meter, I have a real Amprobe meter. The cost was reasonable, and it's lasted many years.
" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#6 J5

J5

    Kohai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 491 posts
  • Location: non-US or Canada

Posted 01 August 2009 - 08:38 PM

me personally havent bothered with cap readings, easy enough to know its faulty and change the cap

#7 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,151 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 02 August 2009 - 06:05 AM

It's good to be able to actually test the capacitor. Every once in a while I find a cap that is working well below it's rated value. A couple times a year I find direct drive washers that the cap measures about 40 uf instead of the 189-220 uf that it should be. 
" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#8 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 08 August 2009 - 07:42 PM

One word: FLUKE
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#9 volleyball

volleyball

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 09:22 AM

i don't know how deep you get into the electronics, but an ESR meter might be a good addition to a cap. meter

#10 MARSfixinit

MARSfixinit

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 07 November 2009 - 05:44 AM

Fluke is better than a Fieldpiece? I love my Fieldpiece. Haven't tried out a Fluke.
Service Beyond.

#11 appliancejack

appliancejack

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Light

Posted 15 August 2010 - 04:49 PM

I'm also a BIG FAN of the FieldPiece with Amp Clamp. I've been using it for 3 years and it has never given me any trouble. It's been dropped, kicked, and also in a mud puddle and still going.

#12 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,151 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 30 August 2010 - 02:37 AM

It happened again. I go out on a call where the previous tech ordered a motor and a timer. I put them on, and all I get is a hum. I use my meter and check the motor cap, only reads 40 uf instead of the needed 189-220 uf. New cap installed, runs like a dream.
" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#13 telefunkenu47

telefunkenu47

    Kohai

  • Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 02 September 2010 - 03:27 AM

Back when Sears went ISO the took away our flukes and gave us fielpeices. crappy meter, no autoranging. I started using my own personal Fluke. Just recently bought the HVAC meteer from fluke. Wouldnt trade it for the world..Dont screw around. just get the fluke.
Even root canal is easy...if you're a dentist...

#14 appl.tech.29501

appl.tech.29501

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,025 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Waffle House Coffee

Posted 03 September 2010 - 03:00 AM

I too recommend Fluke although I was looking at a Fieldp piece DL3 data logger for charting Frige temps. Until Reg. Found that little updated stand alone thingamajiggy which I plan on ordering this weekend.
If you would like to make a donation you may do so at the link below

One on one repair help now available !

http://homepage.mac....ppl.tech.29501/

http://twitter.com/ApplTech29501

http://www.facebook.com/ApplTech29501

www.eliteapplianceservice.org

#15 appl.tech.29501

appl.tech.29501

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,025 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Waffle House Coffee

Posted 13 April 2011 - 01:49 PM

If anyone is looking for a clamp meter, you will want to take a good look at this one. It is a really good deal. I just got one and let me tell yeah it has everything you want in a clamp meter.

AC/DC volts and amps
continuity w/ buzzer
fuse protected
Back light
Temperature w/ thermocouple

has way more features than my fluke and is built well

Was gonna post a link but it wont lemme

Ebay auction # 110648028471

$50 shipped
If you would like to make a donation you may do so at the link below

One on one repair help now available !

http://homepage.mac....ppl.tech.29501/

http://twitter.com/ApplTech29501

http://www.facebook.com/ApplTech29501

www.eliteapplianceservice.org

#16 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 13 April 2011 - 02:30 PM

the only "con" I can see is:
AC current ranges: 400 A, 600 A
AC current accuracy: 1.9 % ± 5 digits

.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#17 appl.tech.29501

appl.tech.29501

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,025 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Waffle House Coffee

Posted 13 April 2011 - 05:18 PM

Vs. My fluke 87 and 114 on 120V and 240V circuits its dead on

One of my fluke clamp meters grew legs and the other shat the bed
So I can't compare amps....
If you would like to make a donation you may do so at the link below

One on one repair help now available !

http://homepage.mac....ppl.tech.29501/

http://twitter.com/ApplTech29501

http://www.facebook.com/ApplTech29501

www.eliteapplianceservice.org

#18 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 13 April 2011 - 06:47 PM

AC current ranges: 400 A, 600 A
AC current accuracy: 1.9 % ± 5 digits

trying to read 3.2 A on a good Oven Ignitor, would read anywhere from 2.65 A to 3.76 A
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#19 certified tech group 51

certified tech group 51

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,525 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 April 2011 - 10:13 PM

If you are in the business, you do not have time to run to the store to replace a cheap meter, what ever style...In the tool bag, I have a Fluke 23 " It's a fluke if it works ".. With a # 77 at the shop......Clamp on amp meter is a Snap-on model EEDM509B, Sells for $450.00, pretty accurate...For temp. checks, I use the Fluke 21 with the adapter and a Blue Point I.R. temp....... ( one tool for each test plus they can be a back-up if one quits <_< )........ I have worked with other "tech's" and you look at their tool bag and it looks like they bought every thing from the 'dollar' store......

#20 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 03 September 2011 - 08:51 AM

I would like a clamp meter that features peak-and-hold so I can measure inrush current. I have a Fluke 902, which I like very much, but doesn't have that feature.

If I know the motor is drawing too much at start-up, would be very helpful.

Preferably Fluke, but Fieldpiece would be OK too.
First, do no harm.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics