Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Bosch Dishwasher SGV4313GB/13


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 09:40 AM

Hi All,
Since I have had the water off to the house, our Bosch dishwasher will not fill.
I can do a reset, the washer pump seems to run for a few seconds but it will not fill up and start.
Water is on and door is fully closed.
If I pour a couple of pints into the bottom, do a reset and then close the door, it will start a wash cycle. It then empties but wont re-fill.

Any ideas?

Cheers
Daz.

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 14 September 2005 - 10:12 AM

It's no clear from your post: is the water to the house turned back on?

#3 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 10:37 AM

Sorry, yes. water is back on and flows at the connection to the dishwasher when the pipe is removed.

#4 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 14 September 2005 - 12:29 PM

Ok, so losing water supply to the whole house may be a coincidental, but not a causal, event associated with your dishwasher not filling with water.

Proceeding on that basis, coupled with your report that you have water pressure at the valve, your next step is to test the continuity of the valve coil and, if that checks good, to test for adequate voltage (i.e., 120v ac) going to the valve.




#5 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 14 September 2005 - 01:04 PM

Ok, the coil measures 8ohms from the connections at the rear of the washer, so continuity is ok there. There is no AC at anytime to open the valve.
I have a meter connected across the terminals and have reset the machine, and turned it on.
The connections are 2 pink wires, one goes to a multi-way block on the RHS of the machine,this must go to the control PCB, whereever that is, the other is on a switch on the LHS, looks like pump switch.



#6 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 14 September 2005 - 01:37 PM

I'd verify that float switch wasn't jammed closed.

#7 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 15 September 2005 - 08:13 AM


How can I confirm I'm looking at the float switch?
There is solenoid operated valve which is free moving and a red float which switches the pump on when I lift it up. This red float is difficult to get at.

Cheers

#8 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 15 September 2005 - 08:26 AM

Ok I've pulled it all apart, the float is free and the solenoid directly under the water inlet is also free.

#9 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 15 September 2005 - 09:50 AM

Are you getting voltage to the float switch?

#10 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 08:50 AM

Yes there is voltage on the 2 outer contacts during normal cycle and switches over to the middle contact when I lift the float. (No water in float chamber).

#11 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 08:55 AM

The part I am testing is 26 3186. I assume this is the float switch?

Attached Files



#12 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 16 September 2005 - 09:25 AM

I won't open your attachment. If you're trying to show a picture, just attach a plain jpg or gif file.

#13 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 09:31 AM

Sorry, jpeg attached.

Attached Files



#14 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 16 September 2005 - 09:34 AM

[user=3426]dazza[/user] wrote:

The part I am testing is 26 3186. I assume this is the float switch?

Correctum. It appears there are two micro switches in this assembly. Can you post the wiring diagram, also?

#15 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 09:43 AM

Don't have a wiring diagram, just the exploded diagram from the Bosch website.

#16 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 16 September 2005 - 09:47 AM

Remove the kickplate and look underneath the dishwasher very carefully with a flashlight. You'll find an itty-bitty piece of paper folded up. Unfold, scan in, post. If no scanner, fax it to me at 775-416-4449.

#17 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 09:59 AM

There's no kickplate as it's a built-in unit. I removed a plate under the door to expose the wiring going inside the door, I've looked underneath, no paper to be seen.

#18 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 10:01 AM

What's on the paper, wiring diagram or part numbers?

#19 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 16 September 2005 - 10:02 AM

There is a kickplate.

I know it's built in.

Wiring diagram is there, they all have it.

This is your qualification test, grasshopper. If you can't find the kickplate, much less the wiring diagram, how do you suppose you will effect this repair?

#20 dazza

dazza

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 September 2005 - 10:22 AM

Can't see a diagram. Can you mark the photo where I should be looking?

Thanks

Attached Files






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics