Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Extended Warranty Choices

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mastertech011

mastertech011

Sōhei

• Scholar of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 07:38 AM

I am a master Ford technician and have been a member of this forum for years and can service a lot of stuff on my own. However I am also a consumer and look out for my personal interests warranty wise when possible. I just purchased a Jenn Air gas range, one with the fancy schmancy control panel but not uber expensive model. JGR8775RDW free standing. My greatest concern maintenance wise is the high cost of the control board and touch pad which together could run near 400 or more for the pair. They are however both covered for 5 years, which is one reason I purchased Jenn Air over Maytag plus a nicer control panel. Now we all know Maytag owns Jenn Air and Whirlpool owns them all.

I have been offered an extended warranty from a company named Expert Protection out of Texas. It is a 5 year warranty for 130.00. Well that is quite inexpensive but also leaves me suspect on the quality of service. On the other hand it is cheap enough that if I never needed it no big deal.