Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.

Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

To get started, click here.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Thermador SC301 does not bake

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 yanluwhoa

yanluwhoa

Samanera

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:water

Posted 13 March 2011 - 04:12 PM

Newbie here. Please advice!
I have a 8 year old Thermador SC301 Wall Oven that suddenly stops baking.

When set to bake and given any temperature target, bottom and top heating element does not come on. No fan comes on.

Broiling still works. Can feel heat from top heating element when set to broil, cooling motor comes on.

When set to convection bake, convection fan comes on, but no heat from bottom heating element.

When set to convection roast, convection fan does not come on, no heat from bottom or back heating element.

I already tested bottom heating element. It is not broken per continuity test.

I took a look at the relay board, no sign of burnt wire or loose connection.

I have tried resetting High Temperature Cutoff. It didn't do anything different.

What do you guys think is causing the problem?

Could it be the air switch? Pardon my ignorance, but why is air switch needed and how does it work? If I have to replace or test it, how to access it?

Thanks in advance!

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man