Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Washer and dryer trip breaker [alt post]


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 jpb

jpb

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 April 2011 - 02:42 PM

I saw this title in a separate post, but the forum wasn't allowing me to reply...so i apologize in advance..

My questions are very similar
I have a washer and dryer hooked up on the same GFCI outlet rated at 15amps [I think]
The breaker in the fusebox is also rated at 15amps

The washer and dryer were running great until about a year ago, when they BOTH would switch off.
I would have to hit the red reset button on the outlet to get them working again.
sometimes I had to this a few times a day.
Also of note,
when it was only the washer running, it would switch off, but the dryer has never switched off when running on its own.

I changed out the GFCI outlet for another 15amps one, but that didn't help.

Not sure what my problem is-

I was thinking i could..

1- could be the washer and dryer have gone bad and i need to replace [$$ option]


2- change the breaker switch AND outlet to 20amps [$ option]


3- call and electrician [$ option]

What do you guys think? I'm not an electrician so i've run out of ideas...

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 jpb

jpb

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 April 2011 - 02:53 PM

actually upon further inspection the outlet is rated at 20amps
so

#3 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 02 April 2011 - 03:02 PM

model numbers ?
The Motors or electronics may have become wet or moist from being in the basement.
Appliance manufacturers don't recommend using GFI's for appliances,
but they may be required for certain local electrical codes.
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#4 jpb

jpb

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 April 2011 - 05:20 PM

thanks for your quick reply
dont know the model numbers offhand...i will check.


but its in a completely dry basement...i have my home office down there as well as the living room-
maybe i should switch out the outlet to a regular one?
do you think a 20amp breaker would make a difference?


#5 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 02 April 2011 - 06:39 PM

do you think a 20amp breaker would make a difference?



You can't just change out to bigger breakers as the size of the wiring is matched to a particular size, for 20A circuit you also require #12 wire - most 15A branches are #14. Most Manufacturers however, do not recommend using GFCI outlets or you risk nuisance shutdowns
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#6 jpb

jpb

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 April 2011 - 07:56 PM

mmm...well i swapped out the 15amp for a 20amp breaker.
although i couldn't see a gauge number on the wire...would it be a severe problem to have 20amp breaker on #14 wire [if that was the case]?

then i was gonna go get a regular 20amp outlet and hook the washer and dryer to that.

#7 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 02 April 2011 - 08:03 PM

...would it be a severe problem to have 20amp breaker on #14 wire [if that was the case]?

.. don't let the insurance company find it, if your house burns down
(if you're still alive)
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#8 DurhamAppliance

DurhamAppliance

    Sho' Nuff Chozin

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 4,781 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bells Two Hearted

Posted 02 April 2011 - 09:16 PM

would it be a severe problem to have 20amp breaker on #14 wire


Not if the actions depicted in following pictures seem normal to you:

Posted Image
Posted Image

Edited by DurhamAppliance, 02 April 2011 - 09:18 PM.

Durham Appliance Thrift & Repair, LLC

www.DurhamApplianceThrift.com


#9 jpb

jpb

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 April 2011 - 09:43 PM

wow!
that serious huh?
so swap them back i guess
still cant figure out what to do!

#10 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 02 April 2011 - 10:03 PM

NEVER violate electrical codes - they are there for a reason !!
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#11 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 02 April 2011 - 10:06 PM

then i was gonna go get a regular 20amp outlet and hook the washer and dryer to that.



By "regular" - I assume you mean non GFCI, why not a "regular" 15A ? it is tripping because of leakage to ground, not overcurrent. Also, the Dryer should have a different circuit (220V?)
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#12 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 03 April 2011 - 12:00 AM

.. non GFCI, why not a "regular" 15A ?
.. the Dryer should have a different circuit (220V?)

1) the GFI is his Wall Outlet
2) Gas Dyer ? :whistling:

Some codes allow "non-GFI" for "non-exposed" Outlets.
(hidden behind the Washer / Dryer, etc)
(not available for someone to plug-in a "questionable" device)
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#13 jpb

jpb

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 April 2011 - 07:45 AM

ok thanks for the help-
looks like there are other places in my fuse box where the electrician hooked up 20amp breaker to #14 wire-
in any case i swapped out the 20amp i had for a 15
i'll get a new no GFCI outlet and see if that helps my washer and dryer from stopping due to tripping the GFCI
appreciate you guys taking the time to answer my noob questions!

#14 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 03 April 2011 - 12:31 PM

2) Gas Dyer ? :whistling:



From the pages of DUH Magazine ................
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#15 jpb

jpb

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 April 2011 - 05:14 PM

yeah its a gas dryer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics