Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Frigidaire FWTBB30DS0 front load won't start


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 prcnc

prcnc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 April 2011 - 10:13 AM

My Frigidaire FWTBB30DS0 front load won't start when you press START. All the other buttons/options work. Please help! Thanks!

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 08 April 2011 - 11:02 AM

Press START But Nothing Happens
After selecting a cycle, there is a 4-5 second delay before water fill or start of operation.
If the washer fails to start after 5 seconds after selecting a cycle and pressing Start,
BEFORE PROCEEDING FURTHER, disconnect power cord from the outlet for a couple seconds and re-connect.
This will clear the board if it was inadvertently set to "Demo" mode.
(Demo does not allow unit to operate when pressing start).
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 prcnc

prcnc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 08 April 2011 - 11:50 AM

Unplugging doesn't change/fix the issue. The board will display the cycle selected from before removing the plug from the outlet, even if left unplugged for a long time. If I remember correctly pressing START would lock the door (audible click), this does not happen either. (The board will display the do code if the dispenser is open.)

Other suggestions/troubleshooting?

Thanks!

#4 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,255 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 09 April 2011 - 08:12 AM

Door not locking-- door lock assembly may not be getting voltage (less common) or need a new door lock assembly (very common).

#5 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 09 April 2011 - 11:06 AM

Dispenser Drawer closed ?
and Drawer Magnet in-place
(bottom front of Drawer)

Posted Image
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#6 prcnc

prcnc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 April 2011 - 01:09 PM

The door is closed and the do code on the board goes off when it's closed. The magnet is missing. Would the magnet being missing cause the machine to not start?

#7 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,255 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 09 April 2011 - 01:19 PM

Good call, Master Reginald! :)

#8 prcnc

prcnc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 April 2011 - 01:31 PM

The door is closed and the do code on the board goes off when it's closed. The magnet is missing. Would the magnet being missing cause the machine to not start?

Does the magnet activate the REED SWITCH?

#9 prcnc

prcnc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 April 2011 - 01:37 PM

OK, the magnet is on the dispenser drawer. Don't ask...

So I guess we're back to the door locking mechanism....

#10 prcnc

prcnc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 April 2011 - 06:08 PM

Replacing the door locking mechanism did not fix the problem.

Any ideas? Thanks...

#11 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 13 April 2011 - 07:23 PM

May be a bad Start Switch (part of the Controller)
Membrane Keypad Test
To activate, unplug power cord and reconnect.
Press and hold TEMPS and STOP keypads simultaneously at least 2-3 seconds within 10 seconds of power up.
Test Sequence:
Press each keypad (CYCLES, TEMPS, SPEED, OPTIONS etc.) separately to verify each keypad functions and all the LEDs for the selection light up
Press START to verify Display readouts are functional
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#12 prcnc

prcnc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 April 2011 - 12:06 PM

Cycling through All of the buttons work, except the START button. Also, when you press and hold LOCK, it beeps, changes the display but doesn't lock the door.

#13 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 15 April 2011 - 12:30 PM

"Lock" only locks out the control, so that children cannot activate machine

Link to Control Board:

Posted Image

Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship






Recent blog entries on this topic

Photo

Frigidaire front load washer won't start; membrane keypad test

By Samurai Appliance Repair Man in Samurai Appliance Repair Man's Blog, on 13 April 2011 - 08:23 PM


May be a bad Start Switch (part of the Controller)

Membrane Keypad Test:
To activate, unplug power cord and reconnect.
Press and hold TEMPS and STOP keypads simultaneously at least 2-3 seconds within 10 seconds of power...

Read Full Entry →

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics