Jump to content


Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Maytag MER5555QCW oven (bake and broil) doesn't work


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 larryc

larryc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 May 2011 - 10:25 PM

Maytag MER5555QCW range - oven doesn't work, but the top stoves function properly. the bake element was replaced and the vroil element was checked for resistance and seemed to be ok. after turning on the bake/broil, the indicating light was not on. there's no power in the receptacles connecting to both bake/broil elements.

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,452 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 27 May 2011 - 11:51 PM

You'll find it affixed to the back panel, under the center piece.

Here's the replacement...  http://www.repaircli...mber=MER5555QCW

 

00993522.jpg
Click it to git it.



#3 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 28 May 2011 - 01:51 AM

normally that one is re-settable... (press red button)
have you used Self-Clean lately ? :nono:
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#4 larryc

larryc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 May 2011 - 08:55 PM

I did not use self clean recently. However, when the bake was used, there's an "explosion" in the oven and smoke was full of oven. After that, both broil & bake don't work. The bake element was burned out (broken) and the broil element seems to be ok (om reading about 20). After the new bake element was installed, the light on the control panel was not lighting even the bake or broil was turned on. there're some clicking noise from the control unit (for digital clock, bake, broil, clean ...). checked the wire connecting to the elements and found there seem to be not power.

I suspected it might be the Hi Limit Switch problem. Just not sure how to check and confirm that's the problem. Do I have to replace it or it can be reset as you suggested. How to reset?

Really appreciate your expertise and help.

#5 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 28 May 2011 - 08:57 PM

normally that one is re-settable... (press red button)


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#6 larryc

larryc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:49 PM

HI guys, I cannot find this switch. Nothing really looks like the one showed. Please help me out to find where it's located. Appreciate your help.

#7 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,452 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 30 May 2011 - 09:01 PM

You'll find it affixed to the back panel, under the center piece.



#8 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 30 May 2011 - 09:05 PM

from the 16025644.pdf Service Manual:
Oven High Limit
NOTE: Requires removal of oven from installation position.
1. Turn off power to unit.
2. Remove lower rear access panel.

.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#9 larryc

larryc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 07:53 AM

It seems that there's no such switch (Hi Limit) in this range looks like the one in the picture you posted. I checked the the wire connecting power terminal to the control panel, which is good and having power supply of 240 V. When I checked the wire (out from the control panel to the bake/broil elements), it was found there's no power out even from the control panel to the elements. After removing the wires (black on the circuit board), I checked the continuity of the them. There's no continuity between the power in (supply) and outs (to both bake and broil element). I guess there's something wrong between the power in and out on the integrated circuit board. In this case, do I have to replace the control board? Thank you.

#10 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 31 May 2011 - 08:19 AM

... do I have to replace the control board?

yes, bad Controller, IF you have 240v at the Controller Board from the big RED wire to the big BLACK wire
When the Bake Element "exploded", it may have taken out a Relay or two, and part of the Controller printed circuit.
http://www.repaircli...R=154&N=1795917

 

00913096.jpg


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#11 larryc

larryc

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 31 May 2011 - 08:48 AM

After replacing the control panel, do I still need to reset the Hi Limit Switch (thermstat)?

#12 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 31 May 2011 - 09:08 AM

After replacing the control panel, do I still need to reset the Hi Limit Switch (thermstat)?

you said you don't have one ...
DO you have 240v at the Controller Board from the big RED wire to the big BLACK wire
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics