Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Something has changed and really made this site jam my computer up


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,888 posts

Posted 18 June 2011 - 06:46 AM

Samurai, something has been changed on your site here in the last two or three weeks that is really screwing up my use of the site.

I have only have 768MB of main memory. I'm on a slower (1.5MB) broadband service and when I surf the website I open up each section of the forum that has new post each in a new window then I go to each of those windows and open up all the new topics each in there own tab on that window. I've always done it this way and never had a problem with having 7 or 8 windows open with each having from 1 to 6 tabs open at the same time.

Now doing this with only 2 or 3 windows and opening 6 or 7 tabs it totally pegs my processor out at 100% even after all the pages are done loading makes it almost impossible to get control of the system back since Firefox is taking almost all the processing time. I've watched the memory usage and processor percentage and it definitely Firefox and appliantology website.

I think it might have something to do with Google/Doubleclick ads since when I'm loading a bunch of topics in new tabs and the processing starts locking up and the download indicators all stop they seem to be all at a google.doubleclick ad thing being loaded in the status bar at the bottom of the browser. Just noticed the AAA/Hertz ads are flash ads and been seeing them a lot since this problem has been going on, each one maybe having to load another flash player or something because it's done downloading and the amount of memory that Firefox is consuming over 500MB and starts releasing as I start closing out tabs.

It's that or maybe something to do with that Samurai help script that runs, maybe it's still in the background somewhere even after I "X" to close it out.

Edited by Budget Appliance Repair, 18 June 2011 - 06:51 AM.

William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 18 June 2011 - 07:14 AM

Good to know, Willie. I doubt it's the chat box, that's just an asynchronous java script and it really does stop running when you x it out.

Flash, OTOH, is buggy technology and it's been messing with my browser in other ways. I'll change the ads to text-only. I'll do that today. Let me know if that helps next time you log in.

#3 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,888 posts

Posted 19 June 2011 - 07:43 AM

Much better, still very high processor usage, but able to keep control of things and not hanging up anymore.

Not sucking the memory away like it was at all, had to be those flash ads.
William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#4 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,888 posts

Posted 19 June 2011 - 08:39 AM

Looks like I spoke to soon. Memory problem taken care of but still sucking the life out of the processor.

Down to only two tabs left open on one window, everything is loaded. Can watch the processor usage of Firefox and it jumps from 7% to 13% usage then surges to 30%-60% usage, (on any time period of watching it's up in the 30-60 range at least 50% of the time). That is with everything just setting and not even touching the mouse.
William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#5 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 19 June 2011 - 10:00 AM

Firefreax may actually be part of the problem. Lots of bloat and bugs in the latest upgrades. I just can't think of anything else at the site that could affect it that way.

Just for grins and to help troubleshoot, install Google Chrime and try loading up with it. Lemme know if there's any difference.

#6 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,888 posts

Posted 20 June 2011 - 05:45 AM

Firefreax may actually be part of the problem. Lots of bloat and bugs in the latest upgrades.


Probably have to agree with you on that, the problems do seem to have appeared sometime after the last one or two FireFox updowngrades.


Hate changing to a new browser, have got used to the Firefox style but have been becoming more and more disillusioned with it lately, they may just have forced me to change browsers.
William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#7 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 815 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 20 June 2011 - 11:31 PM

I had the same problem for a couple days until I downloaded my pending updates that I kept ignoring witch included Internet Explorer 9. Problem solved.

#8 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 21 June 2011 - 11:30 AM

I had the same problem for a couple days until I downloaded my pending updates that I kept ignoring witch included Internet Explorer 9. Problem solved.




Good to know, Santa!

#9 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 815 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 21 June 2011 - 09:05 PM

I should add that it was only this site that was hanging up. I don't know what that means though.

#10 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,888 posts

Posted 22 June 2011 - 05:25 AM

I still think there is something going in in the background of this sites webpages, since this is also the only site I really have problems with.

Samurai, any possibility that the "Get Clicky" at the bottom is a new web page watcher that you just changed to or added recently?

Santa, Do you use FireFox to normally surf the web and this site? But you updated you IE to the latest 9.? version and that took care of the problem with FireFox? I'm still using IE6 because I do some data entry work and every time I upgraded to anything above the IE6 that I was using to do the data entry work I would loose all my prefilled forms history for some reason, it all came back when I reverted back to the previous IE6 version.
William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#11 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 22 June 2011 - 05:40 AM

I'm using FireFox 4.0.1 and usually use the "View New Content" at the top right corner of any page. (unless I haven't been ON in awhile)
It shows me a chronological list of all the new posts (of all the forums)
I then only open (1) post at a time.
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#12 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,888 posts

Posted 22 June 2011 - 06:16 AM

Try opening 9 or 10 post at the same time and see where your processor usage percentage goes.

I'm also on the newest FireFox 4.0.1
William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#13 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 22 June 2011 - 06:36 AM

Pentium dual core 2.2GHz
3 GB ram
opened 10 posts "open link in New Tab"
CPU 55% for about 12 seconds, then dropped down to 5%

tried again...
now 93% for a few seconds
then 65% for a few minutes
then dropped for a few seconds..
then back to 70%
but Windows Task manager says 70% , but not much on the list
7%
5%
2%
0%
etc
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#14 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 22 June 2011 - 07:12 AM

Try opening 9 or 10 post at the same time and see where your processor usage percentage goes.


Wanted to explore this a little bit. If you bookmark this page:

http://appliantology...earch&do=active

You can go directly to it as often as you like and it shows you all the topics with new posts from the past 24 hours. It's like the "Recent" button at the at the old forum. If you use that, you shouldn't need to have more than one or two browser windows or tabs of forum open at at a time.

Just a thought.

#15 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 815 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 22 June 2011 - 10:24 PM

Budget Appliance Repair: I only use Internet Explorer 9. I've read about people not liking IE but I don't have any problems with it.

#16 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 815 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 01 July 2011 - 02:55 PM

Heads Up, the site is wacky, slow again. I'm going to ApplianceJunk for awhile, hehehe :ohmy:


Spoke too soon. It seems ok now. Sorry, losing patience in this instant on demand world.

Edited by SANTA, 01 July 2011 - 03:01 PM.


#17 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 01 July 2011 - 03:01 PM

Posted Image Loading fine for me.

Anyone else having page load problems?

#18 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 01 July 2011 - 03:31 PM

Yes, sometimes incredibly slow - using Internet Explorer (as always) and this didn't start happening until recently
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#19 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 01 July 2011 - 03:52 PM

Thanks, kdog. How's it running right now?

#20 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 01 July 2011 - 03:57 PM

Deleted the Olark chart box as a test. Lemme know if there's any difference, either way.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics