Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Maytag Centennial Electric Dryer Model #MEDC400VW


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:20 PM

I'm not an electrician but I installed a new dryer for my sister the other day. This is an older house and the dryer outlet was a 3 wire electric range type. The new dryer cord is a 4 wire type so I changed the outlet to match the cord. Everything on the dryer works except the interior light. I only get 50 volts. Please mister wizard, tell me what I did wrong or do I have a problem with the dryer itself.

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:20 PM

sorry, don't know how I double posted.


Edited by SANTA, 30 August 2011 - 11:22 PM.


#3 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:24 PM

Topics merged

Unfamiliar with the 3 wire set-up (that's illegal here), do you join the Neutral and ground together?


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#4 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:29 PM

Wouldn't you be better off to change the receptacle to a 4 wire instead of replacing the whole cord ?


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#5 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:34 PM

Thats what I did. The house wire is only 3 wires, black, red, white.

#6 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:35 PM

... I changed the outlet to match the cord.

... should check local codes, may require a 4-wire Dryer Outlet & Cord
Also would need to change the Fuse / Breakers from 50A to 30A

On the 4-wire Outlet, the top-center is Neutral and the bottom-center is ground.
Left and right are "hots"

On the 3-wire Outlet, the center is Neutral
and Left and Right are "hots"
Check the voltages at the Outlet
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#7 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:36 PM

So it depends on the Neutral wire to ground it, wouldn't you also need to Ground the cabinet to Neutral ?


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#8 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:39 PM

So it depends on the Neutral wire to ground it, wouldn't you also need to Ground the cabinet to Neutral ?

if it uses a 3-wire Cord,
the "center" Neutral Terminal on the Dryer, and the "chassis" are tied together
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#9 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:43 PM

The new dryer cord is a 4 wire type


I'm not an electrician .


Me neither (far from it), but I have never seen this in practice so I guess we are all learning
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#10 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:46 PM

You could try and measure voltage between hot wire of lamp socket and powercord neutral to see if you have full voltage there


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#11 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 30 August 2011 - 11:58 PM

The voltage from the outlet and to the dryer are ok. I'm sure the old 3 wire outlet isn't up to code. If it's a safety issue maybe I should have her hire an electrician to make it right.

Edited by SANTA, 30 August 2011 - 11:59 PM.


#12 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:01 AM

... and there's 120v from each "outside" Terminal to "center" Terminal, on the Dryer ?
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#13 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:04 AM

Yes sir there is.

#14 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:07 AM

Yes sir there is.

... while Dryer is running ?
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#15 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:12 AM

I'll have to check that later but after rehashing my voltage testing in my mind I remember getting 100 volts from each hot wire to the ground on the new outlet and thinking that was kind of odd because there's no ground wire.

Edited by SANTA, 31 August 2011 - 12:23 AM.


#16 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:24 AM

P/M'd you the service info - check section 2-4 regarding the cord


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#17 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:33 AM

Thanks, I'll have to look at it in the morning. I need my beauty sleep.:scotsgit:

#18 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,158 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 31 August 2011 - 05:29 AM

If you changed the recepticle to a 4 wire, you would need to have added a ground wire to make it work right. If the dryer is properly connected as a 4 wire, then the receptice must have the neutral and the ground seperate from each other and the ground must actually be a good working ground. Also, on the dryer the neutral and the ground must be separated.

On a 3 wire setup, the recepticle has 2 120volt lines that are out of phase with each outer and a common neutral. The dryer will have the neutral and ground connected together.

I deal with a lot of this stuff.

Nick
" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#19 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 794 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 31 August 2011 - 04:33 PM

Thanks Nick. I think it would be wise to have an electrician rewire the outlet if there's a possibility of it being unsafe.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics