Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Tappan range Tgf363aud

no heat oven broiler

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 bigwill50

bigwill50

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 07 September 2011 - 01:33 PM

On my Tappan range the oven just stop working and no heat all of a sudden. Im think that the igniter went bad but when i look at the manual i see two igniter. Im not sure where should I start to look any ideas would be helpful.

Thanks

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 07 September 2011 - 01:43 PM

short one for Bake
long one for Broil
Which isn't working ?
Does it still glow at all ?
http://www.repaircli...p?R=154&N=12872

 

00820080.jpg

http://www.repaircli...?R=154&N=823618

 

00637582.jpg


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 bigwill50

bigwill50

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 08 September 2011 - 08:46 PM

OK, the boiler still works just not the bake.I took the oven apart and notice that bake ingnitor looked as if it was fried. I place an order for a replacement part but my question is; Do i have to splice the wire together it did not look like a plug and play action.

#4 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 08 September 2011 - 09:09 PM

... Do i have to splice the wire together ...

yes, ceramic Wire Nuts included)
(as shown in picture)
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#5 bigwill50

bigwill50

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 09:12 PM

OK, the ignitor arrived today and I installed it and it still did not work. Can i possible have a bad part or is there a way of testing it to see if its really defective.

#6 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 13 September 2011 - 09:20 PM

The Ignitor should stay "glowing" anytime the Gas / Flame is ON.
Did the old and/or new Ignitor "glow" during that time OR at all ??
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#7 bigwill50

bigwill50

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 September 2011 - 09:38 PM

It did not glow at all....so did the old one, but boiler does work.

#8 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 13 September 2011 - 10:15 PM

It did not glow at all....so did the old one,

:kopkrab:
neither old nor new one "glowed" ?

with Range Power Cord un-plugged from Wall Outlet,
measure resistance from each side of Ignitor to the Neutral pin of the Power Cord.
may be about 400 OHMs or more.
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#9 bigwill50

bigwill50

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:50 AM

What is the Nuetral Pin, im not sure.

#10 AppGuy

AppGuy

    Kohai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 358 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 14 September 2011 - 08:23 AM

middle well middle is ground and should terminate to the same place.

Edited by AppGuy, 14 September 2011 - 08:26 AM.


#11 bigwill50

bigwill50

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 September 2011 - 08:52 AM

Im not the smartest guy around appliance, but i do have some hands on exp. where exactly do I have to measure for resistance and if its not 400 what is the possible cause.

#12 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,639 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 17 September 2011 - 02:44 PM

Here's a typical diagram of the range power cord power block. This is where the power cord connects to the range.

Posted Image

If you don't get 400ohms, them either the ignitor is broken, connected wrong, or there's some other wiring problem in the range.

#13 bigwill50

bigwill50

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 20 September 2011 - 07:51 PM

OK, so if get 400ohms or more the power supply is ok if not the ignitior is probably broken or the power supply connection is bad.. The old ignitor i took out should it have still glow orange or not because it did not.. The installation of the new is it possible to be be connected wrong by cutting the old one off and splicing the new one on. Should it be mounted on a certain way. Thanks for all your help.

#14 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,639 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 20 September 2011 - 08:09 PM

OK, so if get 400ohms or more the power supply is ok if not the ignitior is probably broken or the power supply connection is bad.


This statement reveals to me that I must make the following recommendation because you may cause to harm to the appliance or yourself:

Call a professional appliance tech to troubleshoot this problem for you.

#15 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 20 September 2011 - 09:27 PM

Here's a typical diagram of the range power cord power block.

...TGF363AUD Tappan Gas range :whistling:
should be about 400 OHMs between one or the other of the Ignitor wires to the Neutral (large, flat) Pin of the 120v Power Cord
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: no heat, oven, broiler

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics