Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

contol panel beeps no lights model # PTS25LBMARWW

control panel fan

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 spmcmullen

spmcmullen

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 October 2011 - 09:49 PM

The temp control panel in the fresh food compartment beeps but the numbers dont light up. Last week the fridge was beeping like someone was pushing on the control panel when the door was closed could this have caused the temp control panel to quit working properly? The fan is running and cold air is moving to the fridge. I had a fan and computerboard replaced a few years ago.

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 09 October 2011 - 10:52 PM

Sounds like a Muthaboard issue - does the fridge still work ?
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#3 spmcmullen

spmcmullen

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 11:44 AM

yes it still works freezer keeps stuff frozen and fresh food compartment is cold as well and the fan runs and blows air fromm freezer to fresh food compartment. is there only one motherboard?

#4 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 10 October 2011 - 04:10 PM

Yes, the Muthaboard sends a small voltage to the control panel in the Fridge and uses your feedback for adjustments, it sounds as if either that voltage isn't getting sent there, or the display board is bad - the fridge is just in a default mode

Links to Parts:

Muthaboard:
http://www.repaircli...er=PTS25LBMARWW

 

01091474.jpg


Controller Board:
http://www.repaircli...er=PTS25LBMARWW

 

00832001.jpg

Touch panel membrane:
http://www.repaircli...er=PTS25LBMARWW

 

00663546.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#5 spmcmullen

spmcmullen

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 04:18 PM

Thank you for your help so far. Can you guide me in the next step should i replace the motherboard or control panel? is there a way to test and see if the control panel is bad? or should i just replace the control pad. the motherboard or both. Thanks again for your help.

#6 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 10 October 2011 - 04:59 PM

As you look at the board standing behind the fridge, upper r/h side of board is the J4 connector (5 pin) - between pins 2-3 (second and third from top) should be 12-15 volts DC (either + or - depending which way the probes are connected). If this is not there, you be needin' a Muthaboard

Posted Image
Become an Apprentice Appliantologist and Enjoy Special Perks
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#7 spmcmullen

spmcmullen

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 October 2011 - 09:00 PM

I believe my motherboard was installed upside down as the only 5 pin connector was on the bottom left i tested the 2nd and 3rd pins and had 13.5 volts dc so I am hoping the motherboard is good, if so how can I determine if its the controller board or the touchpanel membrane is there a test for that?

#8 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 11 October 2011 - 12:44 AM

the only 5 pin connector was on the bottom left i tested the 2nd and 3rd pins and had 13.5 volts dc so



Is that connector labelled as J-4 ?
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#9 spmcmullen

spmcmullen

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 05:30 PM

Yes it is labeled as J-4

#10 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 11 October 2011 - 05:51 PM

So now follow those wires to where they connect to the display board inside the fridge to see if that voltage is getting there. After that it is a crapshoot between the board and the membrane, only real way to know is to try known good substitution
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#11 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 28,712 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 11 October 2011 - 08:03 PM

Go ahead and buy both thru the links Grand Master kdog posted for you. Install one at a time so you can tell which one fixes the problem. Return the one you don't need, even if you already installed it. It's insane! Madness, I tell you-- sheer, unadulterated madness! :silly:

#12 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 11 October 2011 - 10:58 PM

Try plugging the membrane into the existing board (keytails) before sticking the membrane down to the housing - still no work = put membrane back in box and install board
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics