Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore 790.95682302 oven not heating


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Lumpy

Lumpy

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Dale's Pale Ale

Posted 29 October 2011 - 12:24 PM

Hi, I have a Kenmore oven that's about 7 years old. The oven stopped heating this week. Thinking that it might be the main element, I tested the broil functionality. My theory was that if broil worked, then it pointed to a bad element for the regular heating function. The broil didn't work. Neither did the "clean" circuit.

The stove still works fine.

So given this set of issues, where should I start? If neither the oven nor the broil works, do I still start by testing the elements?

Attached Files



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 DurhamAppliance

DurhamAppliance

    Sho' Nuff Chozin

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 4,432 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bells Two Hearted

Posted 29 October 2011 - 01:42 PM

Usually when both go out, it is an electrical problem as opposed to both elements being bad but not always. If neither works, I usually start by visually checking the block to see if there are any broken connections then I test votage going to the elements to find which leg is not receiving 110-120 vac then simply trace back to where the problem is...usually block or ecm.

Durham Appliance Thrift & Repair, LLC

www.DurhamApplianceThrift.com


#3 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 29 October 2011 - 01:53 PM

... The broil didn't work. Neither did the "clean" circuit.

Frigidaire Kenmore 790.95682302
have you used the Self-Clean lately ? :nono:
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#4 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 29 October 2011 - 01:55 PM

Often it is the L2 in-out relay (DLB) on the control board that fails in these

http://www.repaircli...er=790.95682302

 

00652341.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#5 Lumpy

Lumpy

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Dale's Pale Ale

Posted 29 October 2011 - 05:02 PM


Often it is the L2 in-out relay (DLB) on the control board that fails in these

http://www.repaircli...er=790.95682302

 

00652341.jpg



If the stove still works, does that rule out this part? Also, it seems like the controls for the oven do work (at least they light up when you click on them).


Frigidaire Kenmore 790.95682302
have you used the Self-Clean lately ? :nono:


We clean it on a regular basis. It was probably due for a cleaning but it wasn't crazy filthy.

#6 Scottthewolf

Scottthewolf

    Senpai

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,742 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Dunkin Donuts Coffee

Posted 29 October 2011 - 05:23 PM

In case anybody was wondering, DLB stands for Double Line Break.
Scott Wolf

#7 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 29 October 2011 - 06:43 PM

“My Rules”:
Rule #1) Don't ever use Self-Clean on any Oven.
Rule #2) If you're thinking about using Self-Clean, see rule #1.
Self-Clean uses nearly 1000F for 3 hours or more. Posted Image
That can wreak havoc on Electronic Controllers and Connections.

.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#8 Chat_in_FL

Chat_in_FL

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:on the house...

Posted 30 October 2011 - 06:14 AM

If the stove still works, does that rule out this part? Also, it seems like the controls for the oven do work (at least they light up when you click on them).


No, still most likely a bad relay. You can still set the controls to bake, but the relay doesn't supply the power to the elements. There is no thermal fuse on this model.
Also, please note: The overlay is not included with the EOC as you can see in the above photo. You would be wise to order it as well. Part number depends on color.
We, the unwilling, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.

Mother Teresa

#9 Lumpy

Lumpy

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Dale's Pale Ale

Posted 30 October 2011 - 11:47 PM

No, still most likely a bad relay. You can still set the controls to bake, but the relay doesn't supply the power to the elements. There is no thermal fuse on this model.
Also, please note: The overlay is not included with the EOC as you can see in the above photo. You would be wise to order it as well. Part number depends on color.


EOC?

It's a white range.

#10 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 30 October 2011 - 11:52 PM

http://www.repaircli...er=790.95682302

 

00988690.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#11 Chat_in_FL

Chat_in_FL

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:on the house...

Posted 31 October 2011 - 05:54 AM

EOC?

It's a white range.


Sorry, Electronic Oven Control = EOC

Edited by Chat_in_RI, 31 October 2011 - 05:55 AM.

We, the unwilling, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.

Mother Teresa

#12 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,688 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 05:56 AM

I never had to purchase a new overlay when replacing an EOC. They have all peeled off in good condition. I've heard they will even come off easier if you heat it a little with a hairdryer but haven't every had to do that.
William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#13 DurhamAppliance

DurhamAppliance

    Sho' Nuff Chozin

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 4,432 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bells Two Hearted

Posted 31 October 2011 - 06:15 PM

I agree. Never had a problem peeling one off the old or sticking one on a new module.

Durham Appliance Thrift & Repair, LLC

www.DurhamApplianceThrift.com


#14 Chat_in_FL

Chat_in_FL

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:on the house...

Posted 01 November 2011 - 05:46 AM

Never? really? Just me then. It only happens when I don't have a replacement overlay handy. Bits and pieces of old overlay stuck around the edges of old control where grease and heat deteriated the plastic.

Edited by Chat_in_RI, 01 November 2011 - 05:46 AM.

We, the unwilling, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.

Mother Teresa

#15 Lumpy

Lumpy

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Dale's Pale Ale

Posted 03 December 2011 - 11:00 PM

OK, I have done a bunch of testing and here are my results:

1. Tested both elements:
Upper element: 13.3 Ω
Lower element: 16 Ω

2. Tested power to each end of all the elements. I got ~123 V at all four element ends regardless of whether the oven was on Bake, Broil or Off. The way I tested was by setting my multimeter to V AC, putting the black lead on the neutral (white) wire coming from the wall cord, then putting the red lead on the end of each element, one at a time.

This is confusing to me. I thought one of these ends would be 0 V, which would show a faulty EOC. However, I also expected them to all be 0 V when the oven was off, and they are still showing 120 V.

So, wise senseis, where do I go from here???

Edited by Lumpy, 03 December 2011 - 11:01 PM.


#16 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 03 December 2011 - 11:27 PM

220v Oven Elements don't use Neutral.
You'd need to disconnect one terminal of each element and then measure to chassis (ground) to see which leg of the main power is missing.
L2 is usually always connected to one side of each Element.
The Controller connects the other side L1.
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#17 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,688 posts

Posted 04 December 2011 - 07:09 AM

L2 is usually always connected to one side of each Element.
The Controller connects the other side L1.


Some of the new ranges connect L2 to one side of both elements thru a DLB (Double Line Break) relay on the EOC board, (just as Kdog said in post#4). If this relay has failed or the solder connections on that relay have failed it would stop both bake and broil from working. Looking at the picture at RepairClinic this board uses the DLB relay, L2 IN - L2 OUT at lower right hand corner of board.

To test you could remove both of those wires from the control board and slide them together and put some electrical tape around them. Plug range back in and test - good chance you will find that it now works.

It's not hard to separate the electronic board from the plastic case and check the back/trace side of the circuit board for burnt solder joints at the relay legs and repair them if found to save the cost of replacing the board.
William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#18 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 04 December 2011 - 07:39 AM

... 123 V at all four element ends regardless of whether the oven was on Bake, Broil or Off.

sounds like the DLB Relay is working (or doesn't use one)
L2 does go into the Controller, but I don't physically see an actual Relay for L2
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#19 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 04 December 2011 - 07:23 PM


See the closeup pic below = L2in and L2 out, betting that doesn't close - measure voltage between them with oven on and if you see 240v, order one up !

00658086.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#20 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 04 December 2011 - 07:49 PM

See the closeup pic below = L2in and L2 out ...

saw it, but may just be for some voltage sensing ...
I don't see a DLB Relay ...

... 123 V at all four element ends regardless of whether the oven was on Bake, Broil or Off

sounds like whatever (DLB Relay or not) it's ON
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics