Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Whirlpool Duet ht M# WFW9400SW01 Problem


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 23 October 2011 - 04:30 PM

Sensei,

I should not let Tsunade Hokage do the laundry unsupervised, but what can I do ?

Today, Mystical Front Loader #1 gave flashing error message "h 5h"
while Tsunade was trying to use "Whitest Whites" cycle.
With the error message was a ringing sound.
Could possibly be laundry demons possesing Mystical Front Loader #1?

As you turn cycle selector clockwise, all cycles on right side
light up indicators on left side with wrong times,
but cycles on left side light up correct indicators
with corresponding times correct.
Me thinks Laundry demons are tired of doing cycles on the right side.

I turned off Master Power to Mystical Front Loader #1 for approximately 15 minutes.
(Gave time for demons to escape power force fields).
After turning back on Master Power, Mystical Front Loader #1 regained its composure
and started processing washing cycles as it was intended to do.

Sorry about rambling on Sensei,
but do I need to worry about the demons returning?


MENINBLK

Edited by MENINBLK, 24 October 2011 - 07:34 PM.

Thanks,

Pete...

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 23 October 2011 - 04:44 PM

Double check that model # - So, what you are saying is the machine will run ok unless a whitest whites cycle (utilizing heater) is selected ? - Also, remove lower access panel to gain knowledge from the techsheet contained therein - return it there once you are done
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#3 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 24 October 2011 - 07:20 PM

Sensei,

My mistake. I read the wrong label. I should know better.... :(

Model # WFW9400SW01
SN # CSW0407323

I approached sleeping Mystical Front Loader #1 and turned on the power.
Turning the cycle selector gives the same response as last night.
I left it alone and turned off the Master Power supply.
I will look back at it again tomorrow.

How does one access the lower panel ?
Do you have pictures to show how ?
Thanks,

Pete...

#4 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 24 October 2011 - 08:09 PM

Tsunade was trying to use "Whitest Whites" cycle.
all cycles on right side
light up indicators on left side with wrong times,
but cycles on left side light up correct indicators
with corresponding times correct.
regained its composure
and started processing washing cycles as it was intended to do.


This statement leads me to believe that some cycles work, and others don't

the same response as last night.


Unclear just what that was
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#5 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 24 October 2011 - 08:14 PM

The cycles and washer work fine if I reset Master Power.

When the problem manifests itself, the cycle selector behaves the way I described.
You cannot select ANY cycle at all.
Cycling the Master Power OFF, rest 15 minutes, Master Power ON seems to reset the washing machine.

Right now I have left the Master Power turned off.
Thanks,

Pete...

#6 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 24 October 2011 - 08:19 PM

It does this intermittently, or is it specific to different cycles ?

I'm assuming you are referring to your circuit breaker when you say "Master Power"
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#7 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 25 October 2011 - 08:19 AM

I have a switch installed -DPST (Double Pole Single Throw) between the Circuit Breaker and the appliances.
It is there so I can locally kill all the power to the outlet, since the outlet is behind the appliances
and more difficult to reach.

It has done this after washing on Whitest Whites and Normal cycles.
It seems that the cycles can complete normally
and then the problem appears once the washer goes to sleep.

After the cycle completes, the washer goes into a sleep mode and displays a green LED
(where the POWER indicator is). Once you open the door, a chime rings and the green LED
goes out. This usually stays on for up to an hour after the cycle finishes.
Once the LED goes out, you can open the door and you won't hear a chime.

I am going to look at the front cover and see if I can take it off easily.
I have looked at Sears Parts catalog photos for a view of the front of
Mystical Front Loader #1..... :)
Thanks,

Pete...

#8 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 25 October 2011 - 01:03 PM

Remove this panel:

 

http://www.repaircli...ber=WFW9400SW01

 


00849143.jpg

There are 3 screws in the lower lip - ya gotta lay down in front to see 'em - 7mm hex, or T-20 torx will work for them - pump access is there, along with techsheet in a plastic pouch on the side cabinet where it shall be returned once examined/photocopied


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#9 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 25 October 2011 - 05:08 PM

OK... Got the Service Technician Guide.

I can run the Diagnostics without error.

When I try to run Error History / Software Versions / Diagnostic Test, I get no response.
Nothing lights up. I've tried it with Machine Power ON and Power OFF.
If I use the POWER button to invoke the Diagnostics, the keypad / CCU locks up
and I have to cycle the power for 2 minutes to reset the CCU.

I am thinking that the CCU may be having issues.

Also, there is no error code "h 5h" listed.


Pete...
Thanks,

Pete...

#10 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 25 October 2011 - 06:25 PM

So the machine will complete cycles and then go into a failure after it sits unused ? I'd be pulling the plug after the wash is done and skip any component replacement - strange issue; can you verify that polarity of outlet is correct (narrow blade to ground 120 V and wide blade to ground 0 V) ?
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#11 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 26 October 2011 - 11:38 AM

I can certify that the polarity of the outlet is correct.
I installed it myself.
And just the same, it is as it was when I installed it 15 years ago.
Hot on the narrow blade (120V AC)
Neutral on the Wide Blade (0V AC)
and Grounded properly as well (0V AC).

So you're saying just flip the power switch
when I'm done washing and call it a day ?

The Service Tech Guide says that power glitches can cause CCU errors... :(
Thanks,

Pete...

#12 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 08:58 AM

I started getting F22 errors which is for the Door Lock.
The door lock works just fine and always closes on the first try.
I've never heard the door lock tried more than once.
Thanks,

Pete...

#13 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 November 2011 - 11:06 AM

Please... I need help...

When I turn on the Power, and turn the Cycle Selector,
The cycles on the left, select and light up correctly.
The cycles on the right, do not select and light up correctly.

Sometimes, I can turn off the power, let the machine sit for 2 minutes,
turn the power back on and the all cycles will select correctly.

I have run the diagnostics and I get error message F22 but the Door Lock has always worked.
I have checked all the wiring and it is all secured.

The machine is getting to the point where it sometimes does not turn on when I cycle the power.

I have checked with Sears for parts and the Cycle Selector has been discontinued. :(

What do you suggest I do ?
I am wiling to repair but I don't have $1300 for a new washer.

I work as an Electronics Technician for the USPS.
I can usually fix anything if I can get the schematics for it.
Without schematics, I can only guess...

Edited by MENINBLK, 06 November 2011 - 11:06 AM.

Thanks,

Pete...

#14 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 06 November 2011 - 04:02 PM

Topic merged with the last one you started
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#15 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 06 November 2011 - 04:25 PM

I have checked with Sears for parts and the Cycle Selector has been discontinued. sad.png


I doubt it was ever available as it is part of the "control board kit" - If you are getting a doorlock code, the lock could be bad (3 components in latch); if not, my guess would be the control module. Never mind Sears, we got plenty of parts right here - You can order both parts, install the latch and if that fixes it, return the control module (Sears won't do that !!)

http://www.repaircli...ber=WFW9400SW01

 

01222101.jpg

 

 

http://www.repaircli...ber=WFW9400SW01

 


01170358.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#16 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 09:39 AM

Hello again...

I have rebuilt the Control Module (http://www.repaircli...ber=WFW9400SW01) with all brand new relays.
At first the problem I was having went away but came back quickly. The washer passes all diagnostics without error codes.

I am interested in knowing a little about this Main Control Board part (http://www.repaircli...ber=WFW9400SW01).
Is there any intelligence in this part, or is it just a few switches and contacts?
I am thinking that since we use the cycles on the right side of the Main Control Board that maybe we have worn out the contacts on the dial on that right side
and it is causing an intermittent open and confusing the Control Module.

For the most part, this machine has worked very well for us. We have had absolutely no trouble up to this point.
After replacing all of the relays, I can keep the machine unplugged between loads, plug it in when needed and it works fine.
There are a few times though, when the machine becomes challenging to use because it just won't allow us to choose a cycle on the right side of the Main Control Board.
It happens more often with my wife than me and I am more forgiving with electronics than she is (as you can probably understand).

Pete...
Thanks,

Pete...

#17 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,797 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 20 March 2012 - 05:05 PM

MENINBLK - You're a Merit Apprentice at this site which we gave you, you're starting multiple posts for same problem and, *gasp* you're looking at ordering parts from Sears instead of thru us!?

Posted Image

#18 MENINBLK

MENINBLK

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:18 AM

Could a GFCI outlet be causing my problems ??
Thanks,

Pete...

#19 Skiter29

Skiter29

    Kohai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 356 posts

Posted 26 April 2012 - 01:29 PM

yes the GFI could be causing probloms i had a guy that had his on a GFI worked fine for sometime then it would pop the GFI he put another GFI in and same thing once he put a regular outlet in everything was fine

#20 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,797 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 26 April 2012 - 01:52 PM

Did a recent screencast on this subject of GFCIs and appliances ==> http://fixitnow.com/...ith-appliances/




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics