Jump to content


Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kitchen Aid Built in Refrigerator KSSC48QMS01 keeps beeping, no cooling

BEEEPING!!! Wont reset alarm

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 03 January 2012 - 12:21 PM

This dadburned Kitchen Aid Built In Refer. I've replaced upper control board evap fan upper power supply brd.AND Interface but it keeps beeping and won't let me reset the alarm. It won't cool the ref. side evap fan keeps pulsing when it beeps fan comes on. Oh yeah I've replaced the 3 thermistors also Somebuddy ANYbuddy Please Help me STOP THE BEEEPING!!!

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 03 January 2012 - 01:45 PM

from the KSSC48QMS01 Use & Care Guide
"A Master Alarm Reset can be performed by pressing the POWER (ON/OFF) twice
or by turning the power to the refrigerator off and on again."

for service manuals and other perks, become an Apprentice
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 03 January 2012 - 09:01 PM

Yes I've tried that,but it won't reset lites in display keep flashing on and off,its like the board won't reset or accept the commands.

#4 RussTech

RussTech

    Kohai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineken

Posted 04 January 2012 - 02:49 AM

Pressing over temp reset should turn off the alarm. Dbl chk your connections. What made you decide to replace so many components. This machine has a self test, you know?

#5 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:37 PM

Here's the weird thing, I put in diagnostic mode and checked everything out diagnostic showed evap fan at wrong speed changed that,then it said interface bad,changed that,then it said upper control brd bad changed that,a fellow tech suggested changing thermistors did that, now I can't even put it in diagnostic mode now. Tried resetting over temp but brd won't accept any commands now the only brd. I havent changed is the inverter brd. I've gone thru ALL the reset commands but nothin works. So,is it time for dynamite or High powered rifle?...lol

#6 RussTech

RussTech

    Kohai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineken

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:40 PM

Now you have to go through and test out the wiring harness. Try putting the old board back in and see what happens. Also try the old user interface. You made sure to ground yourself during all this surgery right?

Its alot easier to check plugs and wires for continuity when you have a second pair of hands with you.

More then once, Ive gotten control boards, motor controller inverters, user interfaces etc, that were bad out of the box.

On kitchenaids, I always change out the power board when I change the control board. Your control board is obviously getting power though.

Edited by RussTech, 04 January 2012 - 01:45 PM.


#7 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:44 PM

...You made sure to ground yourself during all this surgery right?

... shouldn't matter too much, . . unless you have a carpeted kitchen :whistling:
Has this Fridge worked OK for you, up till now, at this location ?
Had there been a lightning surge, or any power company work done at the time of failure ?
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#8 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:19 PM

The fridge is on tile in kitchen I did replace the power supply board also when I changed out the upper control brd. Put old brd. back in it went back to four beeps the new brd kept on beeping. Old brd took it back to its original prob which was shutting everything down.Dont have old interface as it was a core part had to turn it in. Checked all connections they're all ok, continuity throughout I'm thinkin bad brd out of the box as well cause it made matters worse than the old brd. Question?? What does the shunt do on upper control brd?

#9 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:25 PM

By the way customer says fridge has worked ok never had service since owned for past 7years it was bought new when house was built. original complaint was not getting cold enough in freezer. Then All hell broke loose...lol

#10 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:32 PM

By the way customer says fridge has worked ok never had service since owned for past 7years it was bought new when house was built. original complaint was not getting cold enough in freezer. Then All hell broke loose...lol

As far as I know there has been no power work done, we haven't had any storms in a long while down here so lightning is out.

#11 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,388 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 04 January 2012 - 11:13 PM

It won't cool the ref. side evap fan keeps pulsing when it beeps fan comes on.


It's not clear from this how long the evaporator fan pulses and whether or not it ever runs normally.

What are the freezer temperatures?

If the compressor is running, you don't need the inverter board so scratch that one off your list. ;)

Pulsing evaporator fan motor and not accepting keypad commands for diagnostic entry and self-test points to a bad electronic outta da box.

Part number: 2303934

Part number: 2303934


#12 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 04 January 2012 - 11:38 PM

Thank you Grand master...Evap fan comes on when beeping starts then goes off when beeping stops aproximately 30 to 45 secs.What does the Shunt do and why doesn't the new board come with one?

#13 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,388 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:22 AM

Evap fan comes on when beeping starts then goes off when beeping stops aproximately 30 to 45 secs.


And it will continuously cycle back and forth like this until the plug is pulled?

What does the Shunt do and why doesn't the new board come with one?


What's the part number of the board you're referring to so we can make sure we're talking about the same thang.

#14 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:30 AM

Board number is W10219463. yes evap fan keeps coming on and off when beeping starts and stops, also readout on interface numbers and lights flash but interior light doesn't even flicker.

#15 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,388 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:33 AM

Awwite, here's a purdy pitcher of the board. Where was the shunt on the old board?

Posted Image

Source ==> http://www.repaircli...0219463/1548001

#16 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:35 AM

Is there a way to IM you or can I call you? Whats a faster way to get in touch witcha?

#17 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:41 AM

Top left corner above P3 is MFG shunt Then where the silver square is just left of that is the other shunt

If you read above silver square it says "KABI bottom mount shunt1-2

The old board had one there a little black thingy that plugs on to it

#18 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:45 AM

look left top corner of silver square with triac in it thats where the shunt was

#19 phydeauxe64

phydeauxe64

    Sōhei

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:"Double D" Turbo Coffee

Posted 05 January 2012 - 01:06 AM

Do You see where they are?

#20 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,388 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 05 January 2012 - 01:16 AM

I see the location you're talking about. I'm not finding any info on the shunts, though.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics