Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

GE Dryer DBXR453EA1WW Not Heating ... I've troubleshooted and am Puzzled ...


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 February 2012 - 08:32 PM

GE Dryer Model # DBXR453EA1WW

Hi Everyone ...

Yesterday we noticed that the dryer wasn't heating ...

Today I removed the top, front sections, and drum to begin testing the various components ...

I removed the 2 upper thermostats and they eached checked out with good continuity ...
I then removed and checked the upper right thermal fuse and it checked out with good continuity ...
Worked my way down to the Bias Thermostat on the blower and it checked out as well ...

So, I moved onto the Heating Coils ... I visually inspected them and they appear fine with no burnt or broken areas, the ceramic isolators look fine as well ...

I check continuity on the Coils and all was fine ... I then put one lead of the multimeter on one of the coil leads and then grounded the other coil and ensured that the coil is grounded to the metal shell ...

After checking all of the components that I knew to check, I had an extra Double Pole 30a breaker and swapped it out in the Breaker Panel ...

Put everything back together, checked all connectors on the motor, etc... to ensure good, tight connections and it still does not heat up...

So, what else can I check?

Can these thermostats Read that they have good continuity but still need replacing????

Any help will be appreciated ... as I like fixing items rather than tossing for a new unit ...

Thanks,
TIM

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 27 February 2012 - 08:59 PM

I don't have a wiring diagram for that model,
unless you have one you could scan & upload somewhere.
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 February 2012 - 09:40 PM

I don't have a wiring diagram for that model,
unless you have one you could scan & upload somewhere.


I don't have a wiring diagram but will see if I can find one online ...

What does the switch in the bottom of the case (next to the electric motor) do ??? I've been reading a faulty motor switch can cause the "No Heat" issue ...

#4 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 27 February 2012 - 09:53 PM

It's a Centrifugal Switch.
part of it's job is to only let the Heater ON when the Motor (thus Blower) is running
heater wires = thick wires
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#5 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 27 February 2012 - 10:01 PM

It's a Centrifugal Switch.
part of it's job is to only let the Heater ON when the Motor (thus Blower) is running
heater wires = thick wires


Is it easy to check for continuity?

#6 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 27 February 2012 - 10:17 PM

Is it easy to check for continuity?

Motor Switch is only "closed" when the Motor is running
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#7 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 28 February 2012 - 03:25 AM

I then put one lead of the multimeter on one of the coil leads and then grounded the other coil and ensured that the coil is grounded to the metal shell ...


Element should not have continuity to ground, if it does it has failed.

Link to Element w/instructional video
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#8 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 07:14 AM

Element should not have continuity to ground, if it does it has failed.

Link to Element w/instructional video


I miss typed here and tried to go back in and edit my post but couldn't find an edit button ... I meant to say ... "ensured that the coil is not grounded to metal" ...

I'm going to try a few more things today ... I will unplug the coil completely and test ... I will attempt to test the motor switch while turning the pully on the motor ... and I will test the timing control at the top ...

Is there any way a thermostat can be bad (thus preventing the dryer from heating) and still read good on the continuity test ????

#9 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 28 February 2012 - 08:56 AM

... but couldn't find an edit button
... I will attempt to test the motor switch while turning the pully on the motor
... Is there any way a thermostat can be bad ... and still read good on the continuity test ????

1) grasshoppers don't have an edit button ..
2) Motor would have to be at running speed...
3) not really ...
If I had a wiring diagram, I could help you more,
but GE info is hard to get
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#10 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 09:20 AM

1) grasshoppers don't have an edit button ..
2) Motor would have to be at running speed...
3) not really ...
If I had a wiring diagram, I could help you more,
but GE info is hard to get


I remember seeing a folded sheet of paper in the unit yesterday ... wonder if that's a wiring diagram ... will check today ...

Here is the only thing that I've been able to find online thus far ... seems to be really close ...

Posted Image

#11 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 28 February 2012 - 01:13 PM

I forgot to mention...
Have you checked and re-set your House Circuit Breakers ?
Check the voltage at then Dryer Power Cord Terminal Strip for 120v / 240v / 120 v
If the Dryer is set to run an Auto-Dry cycle, does the Timer run ?
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#12 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 01:43 PM

I forgot to mention...
Have you checked and re-set your House Circuit Breakers ?
Check the voltage at then Dryer Power Cord Terminal Strip for 120v / 240v / 120 v
If the Dryer is set to run an Auto-Dry cycle, does the Timer run ?


Yes to all ... even replaced the 30a double pole with a new one I had lying around ...

#13 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 28 February 2012 - 01:47 PM

... If the Dryer is set to run an Auto-Dry cycle, does the Timer run ?

Timer shouldn't run until the Dryer is hot ...
OK
Set the Dryer to run an Air-Fluff no heat cycle
Measure for 120v AC from each end of the
Safety Thermostat to chassis (a good ground)
and from each end of the Drum Outlet Thermostat to chassis
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#14 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 02:13 PM

Timer shouldn't run until the Dryer is hot ...
OK
Set the Dryer to run an Air-Fluff no heat cycle
Measure for 120v AC from each end of the
Safety Thermostat to chassis (a good ground)
and from each end of the Drum Outlet Thermostat to chassis


Just so I'm sure I fully understand ... we you say set to run an Auto-Dry Cycle, does the timer run ... This is what I translated from that ...

I set the drying time knob to 90 minutes or so with Heat Selected and the knob counts down as the drying cycle performs ... If this is what you mean, then yes ... It does count down although no heat is coming out of the dryer ...

I'll perform those checks this evening ... thanks ...

#15 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 28 February 2012 - 02:26 PM

If the Dryer is set to run an Auto-Dry cycle, does the Timer run ?

the Auto-Dry Cycle, not the Timed Dry Cycle
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#16 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 03:04 PM

the Auto-Dry Cycle, not the Timed Dry Cycle


I may have gotten those 2 cycles confused ... will double check this evening and report back ... thanks

#17 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 04:42 PM

the Auto-Dry Cycle, not the Timed Dry Cycle


Ok ... I checked on an auto cycle and No the timer does not run ... The dryer just continues to run without the selector dial moving at all or advancing during the auto cycle ...

#18 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 28 February 2012 - 05:01 PM

Set the Dryer to run an Air-Fluff no heat cycle
Measure for 120v AC from
each end of the Control Inlet Thermostat to chassis (a good ground)
OR each end of each of the Heating Element to chassis
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#19 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 05:23 PM

Set the Dryer to run an Air-Fluff no heat cycle
Measure for 120v AC from
each end of the Control Inlet Thermostat to chassis (a good ground)
OR each end of each of the Heating Element to chassis


Will do this now ... I was able to also recheck the coils and ensured 40 ohms and continuity ... checked the timer and heat switch and they check out ok as well ...

Here is the wiring schematic ... found it in the dryer ...

Posted Image

#20 Tim_in_NC

Tim_in_NC

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 05:37 PM

Set the Dryer to run an Air-Fluff no heat cycle
Measure for 120v AC from
each end of the Control Inlet Thermostat to chassis (a good ground)
OR each end of each of the Heating Element to chassis


Ok ... I just checked to see if each element was getting 120 Volts ... I set the dial to Fluff and then the far right or auto vs timer knob to Auto Cottons ... and received 124.7 volts on each element leg when using a good ground ...

I did the same thing but switched from Auto Cottons to the Timer Section of that dial and could get no reading on each of the element legs ...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics