Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Lennox 13ACD-036 Humming, Fan Not Spinning


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 DataDock

DataDock

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 27 June 2012 - 06:56 PM

I've got a 6 Year old Lennox A/C Unit (Warranty is 5 Years, of course)... So the fan blades are not spinning, but it is humming. Here is the video of the unit

After searching online, I push started the fan with a metal ruler, the fan began to spin on it's own, and it was suggested if this was the case, the motor assembly capacitor needs to be replaced. Is that correct?

So ten minutes later, the fan stopped spinning, and instead of cool air blowing inside the house, it was just air blowing. (Thermostat set to 74/House temp 89).

Does the fan just normally shut off after 10-15 minutes for a while during general use?

I tried to push start again, but it wouldn't work and I waited 45 minutes, to try again, and I was successful.

I'm open to do this myself, but how can i find instructions, and the correct parts needed for this.

System Label: http://i.imgur.com/6fZDK.jpg

I appreciate your insight, thanks in advance.

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:18 PM

if the Compressor is running, the Fan should be running ...
The Dual AC Run Capacitor is 55+7.5 @ 440v
The section of the Capacitor for the Fan Motor is 7.5 @ 440v.
You could try a separate Capacitor for the Fan Motor, (cheaper than the dual)
OR the Fan Motor is bad
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 DataDock

DataDock

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:53 PM

Thanks for the help

So opened up the panel and took a picture of the capacitor.

So the plan was to get one at lowes or home depot, but neither stock this part. So I'm going to try some HVAC supply stores tommorow, to see if I can find a replacement, if not I guess I will try online.

Posted Image

I'll update when I get it replaced.

#4 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 27 June 2012 - 10:59 PM

is that the original Capacitor ?
Different sources list different Capacitors
Fan Motor rating plate should mention what size Capacitor it needs.
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#5 DataDock

DataDock

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 28 June 2012 - 12:42 PM

is that the original Capacitor ?
Different sources list different Capacitors
Fan Motor rating plate should mention what size Capacitor it needs.


That was the label from the original capacitor still in the unit.

Here is a picture of the top of it, perhaps the rust was the cause of the failure.
Posted Image

Went to a local Grainger store and replaced it with this

Posted Image

Been testing it out for a few hours now, and all seems to be working!

Thanks for the help. Appreciate it.

#6 jumptrout

jumptrout

    Sensei

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,375 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Coors Light

Posted 28 June 2012 - 08:44 PM

If it was a bad motor it would have quit in a few minutes.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics