Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

KitchenAid washer KAWE760W


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 surfboarder

surfboarder

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:24 AM

Washer fills, but nothing else...won't agitate, spin or pump out. Timer does not advance either. Also, manually advancing the timer does nothing. Lid switch tests OK. New timer?

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 31 October 2012 - 12:55 PM

... Lid switch tests OK

are you sure ?
... missing (3) characters at the end of your model number...
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 surfboarder

surfboarder

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 01:37 PM

KAWE760wwh1...and tested the lid switch w/ an ohmmeter (just to be sure, I also jumped the circuit)

#4 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 31 October 2012 - 02:11 PM

IF the Lid Switch, Actuator, and wiring is OK,
then the Timer would seem to be bad

http://www.repaircli...PartDetail/3406

 

Door-Switch-279347-00928734.jpg

http://www.repaircli...PartDetail/3010

 

Actuator-359807-00882822.jpg

http://www.repaircli...PartDetail/1170

 

Timer-3356396-00841044.jpg

Tech Sheet - 3352953.pdf


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#5 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 03:51 PM

Common problem with these washers is an open neutral at the motor connection. Check the white wire where it connects to the motor connector and look for another connection in the harness near the motor. Neutral from the power plug goes to the motor first, thru the overload trip in the motor and then back out the white/black wire to the timer motor and other timer contacts. Neutral feeds the water valves before motor connection so washer can fill til water level switch cuts valves off. Then nothing because no neutral to motor or timer.

Eric

#6 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 28,709 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 31 October 2012 - 07:20 PM

Common problem with these washers is an open neutral at the motor connection. Check the white wire where it connects to the motor connector and look for another connection in the harness near the motor.


Posted Image

#7 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 31 October 2012 - 07:42 PM

What's the fix? A whole new harness?
First, do no harm.

#8 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 31 October 2012 - 07:48 PM

... Neutral from the power plug goes to the motor first, thru the overload trip in the motor and then back out the white/black wire to the timer motor

according to the Tech Sheet, the Timer Motor is connected directly to Neutral.

If the Timer is good, during the Wash Cycle, there should be 120v between one side of the Lid Switch to chassis (a good ground)
and 120v across the two wires on the Lid Switch
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#9 surfboarder

surfboarder

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:48 PM

Thanks for the advice...will check motor tomorrow


#10 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 31 October 2012 - 08:55 PM

What's the fix?


Female wire terminal - motor

This one would likely work also:
http://www.repaircli.../T20021/1810275

 

Terminal-T2002-1-01204762.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#11 Scottthewolf

Scottthewolf

    Senpai

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,689 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Dunkin Donuts Coffee

Posted 31 October 2012 - 09:01 PM

I've also seen a clogged pressure switch, air dome or hose cause the washer to stop filling, but not allow the machine to start agitating.
Scott Wolf

#12 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 31 October 2012 - 10:26 PM

according to the Tech Sheet, the Timer Motor is connected directly to Neutral.


Don't think that is the correct tech sheet. This washer uses the 3-speed motor, that schematic shows a single speed motor. I don't have the tech sheet for this model so can't say for sure about neutral connection. According to Whirlpool parts site, the tech sheet number is 3353753.

Eric

Edited by fairbank56, 31 October 2012 - 10:33 PM.


#13 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 01 November 2012 - 03:15 AM

... This washer uses the 3-speed motor
... According to Whirlpool parts site, the tech sheet number is 3353753

Yes, I see that now, you're right,
although the 3353753 tech sheet can't be found at Whirlpool service website

Whirlpool service site lists:
KAWE760WAL0 Tech Sheet # 3352953
KAWE760WAL1 Tech Sheet # 3352953
KAWE760WAL2 Tech Sheet # 3352953
KAWE760WAL3 Tech Sheet # 3353757
KAWE760WWH0 Tech Sheet # 3352953
KAWE760WWH1 Tech Sheet # 3352953
KAWE760WWH2 Tech Sheet # 3352953
KAWE760WWH3 Tech Sheet # 3353757

3352953 shows a 1 speed Motor
3353757 shows a 3 speed Motor
but they both show the Timer connected directly to Neutral

Check for 120v between one side of the Lid Switch to chassis (a good ground)
and 120v across the two wires on the Lid Switch
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#14 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 November 2012 - 09:17 AM

Interesting that the tech sheet for that washer shows a 1-speed motor and the parts lists show a 3-speed motor. Only way to know for sure is firsthand knowledge of that particular washer.

The only time you would have 120vac "across" the lid switch is if it's open and your in drain/spin mode (timer contact #2 closed). The lid switch has no effect during fill and agitate. At least, according to the schematic. There are many variations in Whirlpool wiring schemes. Some even have the lid switch in the neutral side before the motor. Here's a Whirlpool schematic for 3-speed motor showing neutral feed to timer going through motor. Gotta have those tech sheets for the specific washer to know for sure what your dealing with.

Eric

Posted Image

#15 surfboarder

surfboarder

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 November 2012 - 11:22 AM

here's the schematic - part # 3353753

#16 surfboarder

surfboarder

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 November 2012 - 11:42 AM

oops...file here

Attached Files



#17 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 841 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 November 2012 - 12:19 PM

Assuming neutral connections are OK, suspect timer but first inspect wiring and connections. Can't be water level switch since power during drain and spin, which are not working either, is through timer contacts, not water level switch.

Eric

Edited by fairbank56, 01 November 2012 - 12:25 PM.


#18 surfboarder

surfboarder

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 01 November 2012 - 01:24 PM

Well, this is a bit strange. After inspecting the timer, lid swith & checking motor...buttoned it all back up and...seems to work fine now. Just needed some attention, I guess. Thank you all again for the help & advice. Best regards.

#19 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 28,709 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 01 November 2012 - 02:15 PM

Well, this is a bit strange. After inspecting the timer, lid swith & checking motor...buttoned it all back up and...seems to work fine now.


Probably a receded wire in the timer harness molex connector.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics