Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

estate dryer no power EED4400WQ0


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 20 November 2012 - 02:00 PM

Dryer wont turn on,has confirmed 240 volts to terminal block.

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 20 November 2012 - 02:12 PM

how's the White Thermal Fuse on the Blower Assembly ?
(and check your Vent System)
http://www.repaircli...sp?R=154&N=2986

 

Thermal-Fuse-3392519-00882790.jpg

Thermal Fuse # 7

W0902062-00003.png


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 20 November 2012 - 02:35 PM

thermal fuse is good ,start switch(should it complete 120volts to motor?

#4 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 20 November 2012 - 03:01 PM

Neutral, through the Door Switch, through the Start Switch, to the Motor ...
Wiring Sheet - W10185979.pdf
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#5 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 21 November 2012 - 10:58 AM

ohmed out main and start windings, thought they were out of range.So i pulled the motor," destroying the blower fan wheel in the process",and on a whim ran 120 volt test cord (should of done this first)and the motor runs fine.Where could i be losing my power .

1)120 volts to red/white wire on start button
2)start button tests good for continuity
3)door switch good for continuity
4)thermal fuse is good


Where should I check next?

#6 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 21 November 2012 - 12:16 PM

no need to disconnect anything ..
Do some voltage tests while trying to run the Dryer...
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#7 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:09 PM

1)blue wire at thermal fuse=0 voltage / blue wire coming out of timer= 0 voltage.........bad timer? tests done with motor wiring harness unplugged from motor.

#8 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:17 PM

black /L1 to timer = 0volts and also no amps(haha)
Why does my timer have to be bad?
Why couldn't it have been a bad thermal fuse,then it would cost less to repair and my profit after sale would be better(where more is better).
Just sayin...

#9 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:26 PM

black /L1 to timer = 0volts


That's never a good thing, you sure you have proper power supplied ?

Where are you touching the second probe to ground ?
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#10 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:29 PM

black /L1 to timer = 0volts

bad Line Cord, or no power at Wall Outlet
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#11 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:53 PM

oops sorry yes there is 120 volts at black wire to timer

Edited by vunger1, 21 November 2012 - 08:55 PM.


#12 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 21 November 2012 - 09:04 PM

Measure voltage Black to Blue

If you see 120v

http://www.repaircli...mber=EED4400WQ0

 


Timer-W10185970-01085446.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#13 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 26 November 2012 - 08:58 PM

at the push to start button ,when i put 1 test lead on the red/white wire and 1 test lead on the neutral at the terminal block-i get 120v
but when i switch the test lead from red/white to the other side of the start switch(which is black on my dryer)i get 0v(this is with the start button pressed to complete circuit.)

So i disconnect the back wire from the start switch and test to the terminal only and(bada bing bawda boom)120v????????????

#14 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:05 PM

... at the push to start button ,when i put 1 test lead on the red/white wire and 1 test lead on the neutral at the terminal block-i get 120v
... when i switch the test lead from red/white to the other side of the start switch(which is black on my dryer)i get 0v

are these both with the Start Button pushed ?
bad Door Switch (or wiring)
http://www.repaircli...?R=154&N=528948

 

Door-Switch-3406107-01157396.jpg


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#15 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 27 November 2012 - 07:10 PM

the red/white wire is 120v ? Does it matter if the button is pushed when testing this wire?

second test , yes . The button is pushed to complete circuit from red/white to black...or is it from black to red/white?

Edited by vunger1, 27 November 2012 - 09:12 PM.


#16 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 27 November 2012 - 07:14 PM

isnt the start switch just completing the nuetral circuit?

Edited by vunger1, 27 November 2012 - 07:14 PM.


#17 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:07 AM

 

Measure voltage Black to Blue

If you see 120v

http://www.repaircli...mber=EED4400WQ0

 


Timer-W10185970-01085446.jpg

Where are you touching the second probe to ground ?

 

isnt the start switch just completing the nuetral circuit?


Yes


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#18 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 06 December 2012 - 05:33 PM

I am getting 120v at push start with meter probes hooked 

 1-probe to red/white

 1-probe hooked to black

 

Should i have voltage there?



#19 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 06 December 2012 - 06:51 PM

Should i have voltage there?

yes, if the Start Button isn't being pushed


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#20 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 06 December 2012 - 08:34 PM

what wires should i test for voltage at the motor?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics