Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Help with my Soda Machine Fridgeration


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 20 November 2012 - 05:01 PM

Hello all!! New to forum and hope someone can help me out.


I purchased an old soda machine. Was told it needed a new power start relay. Unfortunatly he had the old relay in the box not connected. and all compressor/ condessor wires/ thermal switch wires were disconnected.

Need to know if you can point me in the right direction on wiring it this thing?

What I have

COMPRESSOR has 2 black wires
AE530-AR-718-J7
AEA3425YXA

POWERSTART has 4 wires (2 reds and 2 blacks) (not sure if this is the right relay or not.
URSC10


FAN TO RADIATOR?(I think it is a condessor) has 2 black wire s
5KSP51AL327H

O yeah I have a
power cord
white, green and black wire.

If anyone can help it will be greatly appreciated.
Tony
nevarez.tony@gmail.com

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 DanInKansas

DanInKansas

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Lion Imperial or Shiner Bock

Posted 20 November 2012 - 06:39 PM

Important question that will make your life easier: do you have a multimeter?

#3 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:56 PM

Thanks for your reply,
Yes, I have a multimeter.

#4 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:52 PM

soda machine model number ?
pictures of Compressor & parts ?
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#5 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 22 November 2012 - 09:26 PM

Attached File  Slide1.jpg   86.88KB   20 downloadsAttached File  Slide2.jpg   94.92KB   19 downloadsAttached File  Slide3.jpg   40.92KB   10 downloadsAttached File  Slide4.jpg   59.98KB   5 downloads
OK I hope this works Trying to upload photos I made of the parts.
SODA MACHINE MODEL: VFA56-B
COMPRESSOR has 2 black wires
AE530-AR-718-J7
AEA3425YXA
POWERSTART has 4 wires (2 reds and 2 blacks) (not sure if this is the right relay or not.
URSC10
FAN TO RADIATOR?(I think it is a condessor) has 2 black wire s
5KSP51AL327H

HAPPY THANKSGIVING AND THANKS AGAIN

#6 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 22 November 2012 - 10:45 PM

OK - Black wire from powercord to one side of thermostat, other wire from thermostat gangs up with one of the red relay wires and one of the fan wires. The remaining red from relay gangs with the remaining fan wire and white wire of powercord. Now you gotta wire the other 3 wires from relay to the proper pins on the compressor.

Some insight on testing the compressor here: http://appliantology...02-10673192302/
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#7 Cactus Bob

Cactus Bob

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 22 November 2012 - 10:53 PM

I think you have more of a problem than just what you see , i do not want to be a wet blanket here but i have to let you know what i see and why

I think you may have a bad compressor

this compressor is a replacement for the original one and it's not old at all
this replacement compressor comes with a "potential" relay and a overload , this relay and overload are real "hardy" and last for years , so why are they missing ? there is a next to nothing chance they where bad

the start unit you have does not contain an overload or relay , you cannot use just what you have there , you will need a relay or PCT device and an overload to start that compressor safely

i suggest a 3-1 start unit that will work with a 1/4hp compressor and wire per instructions

but you still most likely will not start that compressor

Edited by Cactus Bob, 22 November 2012 - 10:58 PM.

SORRY ABOUT THE SPELLING , I FIX GREAT , I DON'T SPELL WELL

#8 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 22 November 2012 - 10:59 PM

http://www.diyhvacde...products_id=483


http://www.hvacrinfo.../compressor.pdf
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#9 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 23 November 2012 - 04:52 PM

OK - Black wire from powercord to one side of thermostat, other wire from thermostat gangs up with one of the red relay wires and one of the fan wires. The remaining red from relay gangs with the remaining fan wire and white wire of powercord. Now you gotta wire the other 3 wires from relay to the proper pins on the compressor.

Some insight on testing the compressor here: http://appliantology...02-10673192302/

Thanks for the info. Should I try to wire it with this Powerstart or get a 3-1 like Cactus suggested? If so how do I know what 3-1 to get.

#10 Cactus Bob

Cactus Bob

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 06:43 PM

do not use anything you have there

get a 3-1 starter and wire according to instructions that come with it

3-1 will have 5 wires , 3 of them just plug right on to the 3 pins in your compressor with the pre installed connectors
the 2 bare black wires are just power , connect them to the power cord along with the condenser fan motor leads
it's just that easy

when your shopping for one you want one that will work with the horse power(HP) of the compressor you have, in your case you have a 1/3HP compressor , there is a 3-1 that works with 1/4 -1/3HP compressors , that's the one you should buy

Edited by Cactus Bob, 23 November 2012 - 06:46 PM.

SORRY ABOUT THE SPELLING , I FIX GREAT , I DON'T SPELL WELL

#11 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:48 PM

I could be mistaken, but in the second pic you posted, lower left corner looks like a 3-in-1 starter you are holding, anyway you can take a zoomed in shot of that componenet (you are calling it "powerstart") - try to include the writing on the sticker so we can see what you're dealing with there. Best bet is to verify compressor windings measure within spec first and are not grounded - otherwise, it's all for not anyway.
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#12 Cactus Bob

Cactus Bob

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 24 November 2012 - 12:43 AM

KDOG: a powerstart is a start cap and a solid state device to act as a start relay. It is used as an add on unit only , the two red wires go to the existing run cap , the black wires splice into the comp start and run wires

the powerstart is used on window ac units to give a hard starting compressor a boost , sometimes used where line voltage is low to get the compressor going

I guess it might be used on other compressors too , but i have never seen one on anything except window ac units

Edited by Cactus Bob, 24 November 2012 - 12:51 AM.

SORRY ABOUT THE SPELLING , I FIX GREAT , I DON'T SPELL WELL

#13 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 24 November 2012 - 12:47 AM

Ahhh - I suspect you are right when you observe that someone was trying to shock this compressor started; probably explains why it was unloaded - wouldn't mind having one myself to go stick out front of walmart, collect and shop all in one trip ..............
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#14 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 24 November 2012 - 04:34 AM

Kdog & Cactus Bob,
Thanks for the info. I am going to get the 3-1 then come back.. may take a couple days but I will return.
Thanks
Tony

#15 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 24 November 2012 - 10:12 PM

Test the compressor pins first, no sense in getting anything if you have a shot compressor to start with
Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#16 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 03 December 2012 - 09:08 PM

do not use anything you have there

get a 3-1 starter and wire according to instructions that come with it

3-1 will have 5 wires , 3 of them just plug right on to the 3 pins in your compressor with the pre installed connectors
the 2 bare black wires are just power , connect them to the power cord along with the condenser fan motor leads
it's just that easy

when your shopping for one you want one that will work with the horse power(HP) of the compressor you have, in your case you have a 1/3HP compressor , there is a 3-1 that works with 1/4 -1/3HP compressors , that's the one you should buy

Hello Again, 

Well my 3-1 start came today.. So this is my question from your instructions. 

____

With the blacks from the 3-1 that are not pre-pinned.

I connected one black from the 3-1 to one black from the fan on the condenser and one black one the compressor. Then 

I connected other black from the 3-1 to other black from the fan on the condenser and the other black on the compressor.

I have a cord coming from the (looks like thermostat) has a white and black and ground. 

NOT SURE WHAT TO DO WITH THOSE?  :whistling:

 

Thanks again for all your help.. ALL OF YOU!!  :thumbsup:

Tony



#17 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 03 December 2012 - 09:15 PM

OK - Black wire from powercord to one side of thermostat, other wire from thermostat gangs up with one of the black,unpinned relay wires and one of the fan wires. The remaining black,unpinned from relay gangs with the remaining fan wire and white wire of powercord. Now you gotta wire the other 3 wires from relay to the proper pins on the compressor.

 

Did the compressor pins measure within spec ??

 


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#18 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:34 PM

Compressor seemed to ohm out good. I think (if I was doing it right) my ohms from common to start then common to run added up to what I had from start to run.  wiring rest up now wish me luck.   :tinkerbell:


#19 tonybeth103

tonybeth103

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Kabo

Posted 04 December 2012 - 08:46 PM

Ok seems I have everything wired right. The fans kicked on as I was about to pat my self on the back garage GFI popped.  :yucky:

Check connections and popped again.. now I am dead in the water.. Any suggestions?



#20 Cactus Bob

Cactus Bob

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:43 PM

at no time should a simple refrigeration system like you have ever trip a GFI, that said you should not plug a regular fridge into one because of false tripping due to defrost water and steam

 

 

did you ohm out the compressor ?

 

you should have no connection from any of the 3 pins to the case of the compressor

 

on any ohm scale

 

this still does not tell the whole story , but it's a start

 

 

the next test would be with a meg-ohm meter , this tool i doubt you have but you might know who you can borrow one from


Edited by Cactus Bob, 04 December 2012 - 09:48 PM.

SORRY ABOUT THE SPELLING , I FIX GREAT , I DON'T SPELL WELL




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics