Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Whirlpool Washer 110.92591200 does not drain completely

Drain washer

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 murfndbox

murfndbox

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue Moon

Posted 03 December 2012 - 09:37 AM

I have a Whirlpool top load washing machine (model 110.92591200) that drains partially but not completely. I have taken off the pump and the drain hoses and have not found any obstructions. I did not see a coin trap or a drain filter so I don't think my machine has one of those. The pump turns by hand just fine and the wheel inside the pump seems intact and no damage.

When I went through the trouble-shooting list in my manual, I eventually have a suggestion for testing the timer. Since the machine will drain some, is that the next step? Is there an easy way to know how to test it? I'm not real good with wiring diagrams and I am having trouble easily identifying wire colors in the connectors to the timer.

 

Suggestions or ideas?



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:13 AM

  What do you mean by "partially", how much?. Does it drain some and then stop? Does it go into spin? Does it spin with water in it and you still have water left after spin? After agitate, if it starts draining and the motor runs at normal speed the entire time through the drain and spin cycles (except for a short pause of a few seconds), then the timer is fine.

 

Eric


Edited by fairbank56, 03 December 2012 - 10:17 AM.


#3 KurbyMstr

KurbyMstr

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Cherry Coke

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:18 AM

Does it do it in all cycles?  Permanent Press it does a partial drain prior to rinse.



#4 murfndbox

murfndbox

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue Moon

Posted 05 December 2012 - 08:30 AM

Sorry for the delay - My son's washer and I was traveling. One correction - It is a Kenmore not a Whirlpool (my bad). I watched the washer through two different complete cycles (UltraClean Wash; Normal Wash - 2nd rinse switch not set for either cycle) and it worked perfectly. My son says that it fails 99% of the time when they use it. When it stops, they say it leaves 2-3 inches of water in the bottom of the tub. He says they can usually play with the controls and after 2-3 attempts get the washer to finish. Is it possible for the timer to fail intermittently? I'm wondering if sometimes it stops prematurely. I will post more once they can get it to fail for me to observe.

#5 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 05 December 2012 - 09:07 AM

  It's a Whirlpool sold by sears as a Kenmore. Yes, the timer can be intermittent.

 

Eric



#6 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 05 December 2012 - 08:35 PM

If it is the timer, the motor will be shutting off during the cycle - if it is finishing the cycle etc and doesn't stup running then something is partially blocking the pump inlet, or the pump impeller itself is damaged.

 

http://www.repaircli...er=110.92591200

 

Pump-Hose-285871-00882166.jpg

 

http://www.repaircli...er=110.92591200

 

Drain-Pump-3363394-00554734.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#7 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 05 December 2012 - 08:38 PM

If the motor does stop running during the cycle, it could be the timer or the motor is overheating

 

 

http://www.repaircli...er=110.92591200

 

Timer-3946475-00566010.jpg

 

http://www.repaircli...er=110.92591200

 

 

Drive-Motor-3352287-00858779.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#8 murfndbox

murfndbox

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue Moon

Posted 15 December 2012 - 04:09 PM

Just received and installed the new timer. First use, it failed to drain the tub completely and just seemed to stop(timer too). My son accidentally let go of the washer lid where it slammed a bit and the washing machine finished its cycle. Do you think it might be the lid switch? I thought those either worked or they didn't. Can they fail mid-stream?

You also mentioned that if the motor stopped, it might be overheating. Since the timer stops too, is that likely to happen?



#9 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 15 December 2012 - 05:42 PM

    Might be the motor connector is loose. You'll have to remove the cabinet to check this. Check both connectors.

 

Eric


Edited by fairbank56, 15 December 2012 - 05:46 PM.


#10 jumptrout

jumptrout

    Sensei

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,373 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Coors Light

Posted 15 December 2012 - 06:38 PM

From your description,YES,it could be a bad lid switch.



#11 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 16 December 2012 - 01:40 AM

Link to Lidswitch:

 

http://www.repaircli...er=110.92591200

 

 

Lid-Switch-Assembly-285671-00630770.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics