Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore Washer Model #110.29522800


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 bogreen

bogreen

    Kohai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:43 AM

I replaced bad motor and capacitor in this unit a couple of weeks ago.

 

Last week customer called me back and the capacitor had blown. I replaced.

 

Yesterday, she called again and has the same problem.

 

She says there are electrical issues in the home ie. water pooling outside under the circuit breaker box.

 

Landlord's electrician is checking this out.

 

Any other washer related causes for multiple capacitor blows? The motor is brand new Whirlpool that I also replaced.

 

Thanks,

Bruce



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 KurbyMstr

KurbyMstr

    Sōhei

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Cherry Coke

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:49 AM

I would verify the voltage at the outlet, check the wiring (insulation) for any problems, and then check the pump and under the spin basket for anything that might be causing a higher amp draw.  I would think the thermal overload on the motor would go before the capacitor, but things happen. 



#3 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:00 AM

 
... She says there are electrical issues in the home ie. water pooling outside under the circuit breaker box.
... Landlord's electrician is checking this out.

if maybe the electrical House Main Neutral is loose / corroded / disconnected


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#4 jumptrout

jumptrout

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,380 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Coors Light

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:01 AM

Check the incoming voltage.

I suspect it is greater than 120 volts.

Also check for voltage on the neutral and ground wires.



#5 bogreen

bogreen

    Kohai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:03 PM

The landlord had his electrician out to the house today.

 

The house is old and has no ground, as old house's go, but he said that wouldn't cause a problem.

 

He said the outlet measures 122 volts and that too is good.

 

The capacitor box also states 110v - 125v, so it looks like it must be something in the machine.

 

Any more ideas?



#6 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 10 January 2013 - 10:15 PM

does the house also have 240v ?

(two 120v lines) and Neutral

post pictures ?


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#7 Scottthewolf

Scottthewolf

    Senpai

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,820 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Dunkin Donuts Coffee

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:18 PM

I had a 4 year old direct drive Kenmore top load washer with the el cheapo plastic timer. The timer contacts were welded together so bad that the minute you pulled the timer knob out it would blow the house circuit breaker. I REALLY wish they would go back to the old metal timers with the screw on timer knobs.  These el cheapo plastic timers with the push knob in, pull shaft out to remove the timer knob are pure garbage.  Again, the manufacturers are being penny wise and pound foolish at the expense of the consumer.


Scott Wolf

#8 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 925 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 10 January 2013 - 11:41 PM

  The capacitor is for starting only. As soon as the motor comes up to speed, which should be less than a couple seconds, it is switched out of circuit by the motor switch. The capacitor can be damaged and/or blown up if power is applied to it for too long a period of time. Check to make sure the motor is coming up to speed quickly, particularly in spin mode, as it should.

 

Eric



#9 bogreen

bogreen

    Kohai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 January 2013 - 01:25 PM

The weird thing about this washer is she gets multiple uses of it before it blows the capacitor.

 

I could understand it if it blows right away each time, but she does loads with no problem and then all of a sudden

it fills and doesn't go any farther.

 

It might be refund time and cut my mental losses.



#10 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:47 PM

You sure the replacement Capacitor was the same MFD rating ?    I recall some errors with parts listings on some models, would bring up a different valued Cap.


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#11 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:25 PM

You sure the replacement Capacitor was the same MFD rating ?  

The manufacturer has replaced part # 8572717

with this item, part # 482156

189-227 MFD 125VAC

http://www.repaircli...sp?R=154&N=2859

 

Start-Capacitor-482156-00632669.jpg


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#12 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 12 January 2013 - 01:56 AM

And may, in fact, require this one:

http://www.repaircli...8572720/1180742

 

Capacitor-8572720-00901262.jpg


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#13 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 12 January 2013 - 02:28 AM

And may, in fact, require this one:

yes, may depend on the Motor model part number,

an original part number Motor OR a replacement Motor with a different part number...

Drive-Motor-661600--00632465.jpg


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#14 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 925 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 12 January 2013 - 11:20 AM

  The original motor (part no. 8528158) for this washer calls for a 189-227mfd capacitor.

 

Eric



#15 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 12 January 2013 - 12:37 PM

If it's the original Motor


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#16 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 925 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 12 January 2013 - 06:06 PM

  Even the "correct" replacement motor uses this same capacitor. Of course, anything is possible, so the OP needs to check the motor label for the proper size capacitor.

 

BTW, you can get these from Grainger for $6

 

Eric


Edited by fairbank56, 12 January 2013 - 06:09 PM.


#17 kdog

kdog

    RoughShod

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,465 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Dickens Cider

Posted 12 January 2013 - 10:44 PM

If only Jumptrout was here, he'd know what to do !


Help us keep the lights on: buy appliance parts here ==> http://repairclinic.com

For service manuals and lots of other goodies, become an Apprentice ==> Apprenticeship

#18 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,177 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 13 January 2013 - 10:35 AM

Have the customer plug it into a surge protector line filter type power strip. The other option is leaving a meter set up that will capture the high and low voltages.

 

Could you make your own ground by running a wire from the rear panel to a water pipe?

 

He said the house has no ground? I can see ungrounded recepticles, but a fuse box with no earth ground don't sound right.


" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics