Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore washer model #110.4646250


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 gergrff

gergrff

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 February 2013 - 06:55 PM

Thanks for pointing out my mistake......I didn't hold the button down for the last 4 seconds!

 

I tried the procedure doing it the correct way and the spin seems fine.

 

GG



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#22 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,844 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:07 PM

I tried the procedure doing it the correct way and the spin seems fine.

 

 

Does it do high speed spin?
 



#23 gergrff

gergrff

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 February 2013 - 11:55 PM

I am assuming that high speen spin is O.K., since I don't really have much to compare to (so I am only guessing).

 

I guess I should buy a pump?

 

Thanks for all the help.

 

GG



#24 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 14 February 2013 - 05:30 AM

I guess I should buy a pump?

 

Not yet...let us attend the way of the Samurai.


First, do no harm.

#25 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 14 February 2013 - 06:16 AM

The tech sheet's clear as mud, but if I read it correctly, he should have already proceeded through the pump test before getting to spin.


First, do no harm.

#26 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:04 PM

First though, do you have a numerical display? It would ordinarily show time remaining, according to this scripture. But it is an option.


First, do no harm.

#27 gergrff

gergrff

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:09 PM

I do not have a time remaining display.

 

Thanks,

 

GG



#28 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 15 February 2013 - 05:09 AM

I do not have a time remaining display.

 

Thanks,

 

GG

 

Then the error codes cross reference to status lights. According to the chart at the top of page 7 of the tech sheet an F31 (which I suspect you got) will light up Add A Garment and a couple others during pump test mode depending on your exact model.

 

In which case you might be looking at a(n) MCU board. Unless I'm misreading the tech sheet, which I don't think was written by an Englishman. Anyway a bad control, in the absence of any mechanical factors like socks escaping the basket and dragging, would explain the slow-motor/poor-drainage scenario.

 

You haven't relocated or extended the drain hose recently have you? Any plumbing/drainage issues in the house? Not frozen solid by any chance?


First, do no harm.

#29 gergrff

gergrff

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 15 February 2013 - 09:36 AM

No, I have not moved the drain, etc. The machine is just how it was installed approximately six years ago.

 

Thanks,

 

GG



#30 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:25 PM

Re-entering manual diagnostics and proceeding to the pump test, are any status LED's lighting up for you?


First, do no harm.

#31 gergrff

gergrff

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:42 AM

Will advise later today RE: diagnostic test.

 

GG



#32 gergrff

gergrff

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 17 February 2013 - 09:14 PM

Best I could tell, there were no failure codes .

 

The unit went through the diagnostic test - everything seemed fine.

 

 

GG



#33 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 19 February 2013 - 06:42 AM

There are no fault codes, the drain line is clear, and the pump and motor are running fine. The machine goes through every cycle without a hitch. Yet there is still water left in the tub after spin?

 

You know, a while back, another visitor here asked about his furnace, which was short-cycling. There was absolutely nothing wrong with it according to his reports, every question we asked got nowhere. I was pulling my hair out (what's left of it) trying to figure his problem. Turns out, only one burner was catching. He never mentioned the other five burners weren't lighting, only the first one. Had any of us been there we'd have seen that in a New York second and had him fixed up.

 

There is something you aren't seeing. If you are anywhere near Rochester, NY, let me know, I'll run a free diagnostic call for you.


Edited by jb8103, 19 February 2013 - 07:26 AM.

First, do no harm.

#34 gergrff

gergrff

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 25 February 2013 - 03:47 AM

Thanks for all the help.

 

jb8103, thank you for your offer to help with a free diagnostic call.

 

I replaced the main control board and the pump. The machine now works just fine. As it turns out the main control board was flaky - on several test

runs, the machine forgot to spin. I decided to replace the pump, because the old one pumped, but sounded bad after it ran for a while.

 

GG

 

Motor control board ==> http://www.repaircli...er=110.46462500

 

Main-Control-Board-W10273502-00688091.jp

 

Drain pump ==> http://www.repaircli...0130913/1373005

 

Drain-Pump-W10130913-01216786.jpg


Edited by Samurai Appliance Repair Man, 25 February 2013 - 09:03 PM.
Added part links.


#35 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,844 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 25 February 2013 - 07:32 AM

Domo for letting us know how it turned out and what you found!



#36 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 711 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 25 February 2013 - 05:04 PM

thats not the main control, thats the user interface, dont know why the call it the main board



#37 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 25 February 2013 - 07:54 PM

I thought it would be the motor control. But knowing the machine would skip a cycle does change the diagnostic outlook.

 

Well, I hope you're out of the woods now, but I have my doubts.


First, do no harm.

#38 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,844 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:01 PM

thats not the main control, thats the user interface, dont know why the call it the main board

 

 

The "main board" is the user interface.  The other board is called the motor control board.  



#39 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 711 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:50 PM

http://www.repaircli...0273502/2314059

 

Thats what i call the main board,



#40 jb8103

jb8103

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Ginger ale

Posted 25 February 2013 - 09:37 PM

So we have two "main" boards, plus a motor control. Any of these, or any two, or all three, could be screwed up and the problems just might be caused by a bad motor in the first place.

 

Having replaced one of the "main" boards and the pump simultaneously gives us little to go on, except that the problem is probably not caused by the other main board. Not definitively - just probably.

 

But, if the machine has ceased to skip the spin cycle and the pump is now acting as directed, likely the second "main" board is the culprit. But if you wouldn't mind banging your knees another time or two, would you put the old pump back in and seeing what happens? Because I'd really like to know.


First, do no harm.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics