Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Whirlpool under counter ice maker freezing up


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 04 April 2013 - 05:48 PM

I have a whirlpool GI15NDXTQ0 under counter ice maker, it started freezing up, the ice inside becomes one big lump stuck together, also the waterpan and filltube will freeze solid, icicles will hang down inside, sound like the compressor runs all the time. Any suggestions? 



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 04 April 2013 - 05:56 PM

posssibly a bad harvest thermistor...maybe the circu pump has failed.
either way , gotta get it thawed to see. the circu is easy...is it washing water over the freeze plate?
to rule out the harvest/evap thermistor, simply disconnect. unit will revert to a timed cycle instead of temp.
As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#3 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 04 April 2013 - 06:58 PM

yes it is washing water over the freeze plate, most of the time it will produce ice until it is full, but by then all the ice is stuck together, and the compressor keeps running, or so it seems anyway, I can feel air blowing out the front



#4 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 04 April 2013 - 07:03 PM

disconnect the evap thermistor...there are 3 plugs above the cutter grid...one is the grid(frt left) one is the bin thermistor (frt right)...the back right is the evap thermistor.
try unplugging it and see what ya get.
As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#5 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 04 April 2013 - 07:10 PM

ok will try it in the morning thanks



#6 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 04 April 2013 - 09:34 PM

pictures ?


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#7 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 06 April 2013 - 10:32 AM

Still the same problemAttached File  image.jpg   96.5KB   68 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   98.09KB   59 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   96.5KB   68 downloadsAttached File  image.jpg   98.09KB   59 downloads

#8 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:28 PM

I recently posted about my ice maker freezing up, last reply I got was to unplug the evap thermistor, so I did just that, no change, when it gets full of ice it freezes solid, so I have been turning it off for a few hours till it thaws a little, so this morning it seems like it stays in a rinse cycle, fills up with water, runs a little and pumps it out, over and over. 

So any ideas?



#9 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:33 PM

for some reason they are upside down

Attached Files



#10 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 11 April 2013 - 06:09 AM

No reason to start a new topic on the same problem....

anyhoo, take a look at the water reservoir sensor. It is a white, paddle shaped, sensor that sticks down into the the water reservoir thru the same plate that holds the circulation pump. It has 3 wires that will corrode and break loose at the connection plug.
if you find this to be true, again, simply unplug the connector and the unit should return to somewhat normal operation. Then you can order a replacement..
As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#11 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 27,927 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 11 April 2013 - 07:11 AM

No reason to start a new topic on the same problem....


In fact, please do not start a new topic on the same problem, mareedj. Topics merged.

#12 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 11 April 2013 - 10:02 AM

The reason I started it over was that I did not get any replies anymore on my original topic

#13 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 11 April 2013 - 10:05 AM

No worries...just bump with another post in the future...
New info and symptoms will produce new suggestions...

Edited by KurtiusInterupptus, 11 April 2013 - 10:06 AM.

As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#14 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 11 April 2013 - 01:56 PM

I unplugged the water level sensor like you said it has a corroded wire at the plug, but still fills with water, runs for a minute and dumps it

#15 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 27,927 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 11 April 2013 - 03:10 PM

Replacement Water Fill Sensor

 

Water-Fill-Sensor-2313643-01071730.jpg



#16 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 11 April 2013 - 03:12 PM

Yep...order up the sensor. Also inspect the wires and pins in the other side of that plug.
As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#17 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 11 April 2013 - 08:08 PM

Thanks, got one ordered,

#18 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 18 April 2013 - 11:39 AM

ok so new water level sensor and new thermistor, same problem, fill, rinse, dump etc

one thing I noticed while I was watching it was the light inside flickered a couple times and at the same time there was a clicking sound from underneath the machine, this happened about 4 times in 3 minutes



#19 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Academy Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,717 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 18 April 2013 - 12:17 PM

very important info there...so this unit has a drain pump, not a gravity drain?..
sounds like the pump is slow (kinked or pinched hose, restricted at sink connection, trash in the intake screen of the pump inlet) causing the "flood switch" to activate, there by restarting the cycle over.
test the drain pump by pouring a quart or two of water into the ice bin...does the light flicker when you do this, before all the water is pumped out? if so, need to check the aformentioned things about the drain pump...
As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#20 mareedj

mareedj

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:stella

Posted 18 April 2013 - 09:56 PM

drain pump works fine, the clicking sound and light flickering happens without anything else running. 

the drain pump kicks in every time the system dumps the water and when I pour water in it. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics