Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore He5T F25 and F17, thats right F17!


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:00 PM

We have a 2007 Kenmore (Whirlpool) HE5T Steam washer Model # 110.47789 700 that displays the F25 error and then an F17 (which is not listed anywhere.

 

I saw the F17 error myself after disbelieving my wife and son.

 

The machine has recently started displaying an F25 error randomly.  Most of the times it is with a heavier load in the wash cycle.  The machine works for about 4 minutes then stops rotating, displays the error and stops.

 

I did the full diagnostic and it runs perfectly.  Oddly I can do a drain and rinse which spins at full speed then stops and pauses for 5 minutes with no activity, then displays the mysterious F17 error.

 

When lightly loaded the machine seems to get through a cycle fine.

 

I have read that it is the MCU or Motor, which I will ohm out this evening.  Is there any other possible cause?  I read about the pressure switch but can't seem to find it on this model.  Where is it?  Should I check any thing else?

 

 

Thank you.



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:04 PM

Try this test at the MCU:

 

gallery_4_5_80497.png

 

 

Replacement MCU, if needed:  http://www.repaircli...er=110.47789700

 

 

Motor-Control-Board-8183196-01040998.jpg



#3 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:50 PM

So its the MCU but I still have 3 more questions.

 

1) I saw a site that rebuilds MCUs.  Seeing as it is a frequently problematic part do you know what typically goes?  The transistors?  The 2 big start capacitors?  What is the problematic component?

 

2) Do I still need to ohm the motor?

 

3) What is an F17?  Seems like a phantom code.

 



#4 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 20 May 2013 - 01:59 PM

Usually, when you take these apart, you'll see a big burned spot where a component burned up. For some reason due to either age or substance abuse, I forgot what they're called but it's basically a current controlled power transistor. Brother Reg will know and maybe he'll chime in. Anyway, depending on how bad the burn is, some traces may be burned, as well.

Any part you buy through parts links at this site are guaranteed for one year. Compare with the guarantee on the rebuilt boards.

Most of these circuit board problems can be prevented by using simple, wall plugin surge suppressors.

Always a good idea to ohm out the motor windings and its easy to do. You're looking for low ohms, all three windings the same. Open from winding to ground.

Not sure what F17 is.

#5 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 20 May 2013 - 02:05 PM

Thank you for the amazingly quick answer.

 

I know what to do now and will report back.



#6 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 June 2013 - 01:45 PM

I finally put in the new board and same problem.  Do I replace the other board or motor?



#7 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 13 June 2013 - 02:05 PM

So its the MCU 

 

 

How did you determine this?



#8 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 June 2013 - 02:28 PM

Based on your post #2 and your link to the part.



#9 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 13 June 2013 - 03:07 PM

Is 8182793 the right motor drive unit?



#10 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 13 June 2013 - 03:49 PM

Based on your post #2 and your link to the part.

 

 

I posted a way to test the MCU, and the part link if the test results indicated it was needed.  My question was directed to the specific results of that test.  Do tell.  



#11 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 14 June 2013 - 06:22 AM

I seem to have offended you in some way and I don't understand how.  

 

Post #2 is very clear, disconnect the blue plug and start wash.  If washer acts like it wants to start but doesn't then come git a new MCU at the link you provided.

 

Did what it said, and washer acted like it said so I got the MCU but no love.

 

What is next?  The motor?  The CCI?

 

Please advise, thank you.



#12 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 14 June 2013 - 07:40 AM

I seem to have offended you in some way and I don't understand how.  

 

 

 

 

I don't get offended.  I ask clarifying questions.  I can't help it if that makes you feel squishy.  

 

 

 

Post #2 is very clear, disconnect the blue plug and start wash.  If washer acts like it wants to start but doesn't then come git a new MCU at the link you provided.

 

 

 

 

Assuming you did exactly this, that's the clarification I was asking for.  

 

 

 

Did you ohm out the motor?  



#13 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 14 June 2013 - 07:42 AM

I did but I only have a super fancy fluke that I am not sure how to use but the motor seemed fine.  Assuming the board is good is the motor the only other option?  I would hate to keep pouring money into this machine and not get it up and running.

 

Thank you.


Edited by Skripo, 14 June 2013 - 07:46 AM.


#14 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 14 June 2013 - 07:48 AM

 the motor seemed fine.  

 

 

Define "fine."  What where your meter readings?  Where and how did you measure?  



#15 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 14 June 2013 - 07:50 AM

It was within the 6 ohms, but I will recheck but can you answer my question?  If its not the MCU is it most likely the motor?  If so I will pull it out and have my friend ohm it.

 

Thank you.



#16 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 14 June 2013 - 07:59 AM

 but can you answer my question?  If its not the MCU is it most likely the motor? 

 

 

No sense engaging in speculation when there's so much fact-gathering to be done.  Now get busy!   :argh:



#17 mark mac

mark mac

    Sōhei

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 237 posts

Posted 14 June 2013 - 08:37 PM

ohm out the motor pins 1,2 3, should be 6 ohms, four and five witch is the tachometer should be around 116



#18 Skripo

Skripo

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Grasshoppah
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 20 June 2013 - 07:31 PM

Didn't have the patience so I bought a new motor and installed it and now everything is great.

 

I should have ohmed out the motor first time around.

 

Thanks for all your patience and help! 



#19 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,646 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 20 June 2013 - 08:25 PM

 

I should have ohmed out the motor first time around.

 

 

I agree!   :wink:

 

 

Always a good idea to ohm out the motor windings and its easy to do. You're looking for low ohms, all three windings the same. Open from winding to ground.
 

 

 

 

Did you ohm out the motor?  

 

 

Motor:  http://www.repaircli...er=110.47789700

 

Drive-Motor-8182793-01273552.jpg






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics