Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

GE range JSP39BK2BB has 240 volts at broiler element


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 vineman

vineman

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Priorat

Posted 18 June 2013 - 04:25 PM

Fixing a GE electric range with an F-7 error code (would not take selections). Put a new board in and fixed the F-7. Now bake element won't heat. Took voltage readings at the bake element got Zero volts. Read the terminals at the broiler element during preheat and got 240 volts. Rechecked the wiring to make sure all was correct and all was correctly located. Any thoughts on what's up?

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 18 June 2013 - 04:31 PM

some model Ovens (and updated Controllers)

alternate between the Bake and Broil during Pre-Heat


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 18 June 2013 - 04:36 PM

What happens when you put it into broil?

"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

"Occam's RAZOR 'the simplest answer is most often correct'"


#4 vineman

vineman

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Priorat

Posted 18 June 2013 - 05:26 PM

When I set it to broil I get 240 volts. I only know that in bake I get nothing.


Edited by vineman, 18 June 2013 - 05:40 PM.


#5 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 18 June 2013 - 05:46 PM

I'm sorry, I didn't ask the question properly. Where do you get the voltage at in broil.

"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

"Occam's RAZOR 'the simplest answer is most often correct'"


#6 vineman

vineman

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Priorat

Posted 18 June 2013 - 05:56 PM

I set my meter probes in the terminal wires at the broil heat element.



#7 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:18 PM

See above. Some controls alternate between Bake and Broil during the preheat. If that's not happening then you either wired it wrong or you have a control that is bad. I've see many new control boards that are bad right out of the box.

If the part came with any instructions make sure you followed them properly. Don't ever be to proud to read the instructions

That's what they were printed for.

"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

"Occam's RAZOR 'the simplest answer is most often correct'"


#8 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:20 PM

During the pre-heat time (or after)

Does the Bake Element ever turn ON ?


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#9 vineman

vineman

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Priorat

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:25 PM

Reg - no it never got voltage.

 

Spanner - Since I never got 240 volts I suspected a bad control board.  However I was very skeptical of a new board being bad out of the box. Your comments give me confidence to try another board unless you see something I have missed.



#10 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:35 PM

If you just purchased the board you can get it exchanged from the vendor. If it doesn't work after that then you're missing something else. When I ask if you rif ead the directions I wasn't trying to insult you, but a lot of times the replacement part is different from the original.

"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

"Occam's RAZOR 'the simplest answer is most often correct'"


#11 vineman

vineman

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Priorat

Posted 19 June 2013 - 07:37 AM

Hard to insult me. No ego in appliance repair, just questions. Appreciate your response. I plan to replace the control board, I'll post a comment when I get the results of that in. Thanks again.



#12 PDuff

PDuff

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,011 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Ice (Yeah, I know)

Posted 19 June 2013 - 02:21 PM

Also check bake element for short.  Had one take out a brand new control where the control would energize the bake element for 1 second then deenergize.  Would energize the broil element just fine.



#13 vineman

vineman

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Priorat

Posted 19 June 2013 - 04:51 PM

Good idea, I will check that. Thanks



#14 vineman

vineman

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Priorat

Posted 28 June 2013 - 08:51 AM

Ok, got the replacement board and simply put it works. Go figure, I never suspected a bad board out of the box. I'm careful about safe handling (static charges) so I ruled that one out. Thanks for all the help.



#15 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,818 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 30 June 2013 - 03:24 AM

Good work! Getting a bad board is rare and can be a real head fake when it happens.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics