Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Display dead? Kenmore Elite Top-Load Washer


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 23 June 2013 - 10:23 PM

Hello -

 

I'm having problems with my Kenmore Elite top-load washer.  I can't find the model number but it says Part number 8283430 on the back.  I'd say it's around 10 years old.

 

The washer seemed to be "dead" - no display, none of the buttons worked.   I reset the breaker and tried it again and got nothing but, for some reason, it worked the next day.

 

A few days later - same problem - only now resetting the breaker doesn't fix it.  I've checked the outlet and it's fine.  I've tried pulgging the washer into another outlet - no dice.  Is the control board shot?  Can I simply buy a new one and replace it myself?

 

Thanks.

 

Justyn



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 23 June 2013 - 10:31 PM

need model number


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 micabay

micabay

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Drifter Pale Ale

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:42 PM

You checked the outlet, how do you know it is fine?

#4 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:48 PM

How do I find the model number?  As I said - there is only the part number mentioned above.

 

I plugged other things into the outlet and I plugged the washing machine into a different outlet.



#5 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:53 PM

  Should be a tag somewhere with model number and serial number. Usually under the lid possibly on the tub rim. Also check the back panel.

 

Eric



#6 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 25 June 2013 - 11:47 AM

Ok - thanks.  Got it.  The model is

Kenmore Elite Calypso Model 110.22062102



#7 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 25 June 2013 - 01:16 PM

  Open the control panel and check for 120vac on connector P16 on the machine control board pins 2 and 4 (white and black). If good, unplug washer, unplug and plug back in ribbon connectors from touchscreen LED assembly at P11 and P12. Try washer again.

 

Eric



#8 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 25 June 2013 - 03:13 PM

http://appliantology...-sheet-8530142/


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#9 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 25 June 2013 - 06:28 PM

Thanks.  I tried the link but got this message:

Sorry, we couldn't find that!
[#10850.2]

An internal error occurred. Please contact an administrator

Read more: http://appliantology...2#ixzz2XH1mxVgG
 



#10 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 25 June 2013 - 07:25 PM

try it again, works for me


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#11 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 25 June 2013 - 08:14 PM

Open the control panel and check for 120vac on connector P16 on the machine control board pins 2 and 4 (white and black).
That worked. 120V

If good, unplug washer, unplug and plug back in ribbon connectors from touchscreen LED assembly at P11 and P12. Try washer again.

Tried this. Display still dead. No LEDs.

#12 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 25 June 2013 - 08:33 PM

I also measured the DC voltage between P11-4 on the control board and the following pins on the ribbon. All were between 0.9V and 1V

P11-10
P11-11
P11-12
P11-13
P11-14
P12-2
P12-3

#13 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 26 June 2013 - 02:40 PM

try it again, works for me

Tried again - it works in IE but not Firefox.  Thanks.



#14 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 26 June 2013 - 06:34 PM

Tried again - it works in IE but not Firefox..

works for me

FireFox 18.0.1


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#15 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 27 June 2013 - 03:21 PM

Ok - the instructions are unclear to me.  In the doc, the troubleshooting guide on Page 9 indicates I should conduct Test #1 on Page 11 and Test #4 on Page 13.  I've walked through both tests.

 

Test #1 indicates that I should replace the machine control board.

Test #4 indicates I should replace the console panel/touchpad assembly. 

 

Do I need to replace both components?  Isn't it possible one is broken but not the other?

 

Thanks.



#16 Budget Appliance Repair

Budget Appliance Repair

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,720 posts

Posted 28 June 2013 - 05:34 AM

Much more likely to be a bad touchpad/console, these membrane style touchpads are much more common to fail in any brand or type of appliance.


William Burk (Willie)
Willie's Budget Appliance Repair
Eureka, CA 95501

#17 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 28 June 2013 - 12:24 PM

Thank you.  I've ordered the new touchpad.  Is there a tech sheet that provides steps for replacement?  Any advice?



#18 justyn

justyn

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Black Butte Porter

Posted 03 July 2013 - 02:39 AM

Just spent an hour replacing the touchpad and the display is still blank. Still getting 120v per earlier tests. Did I just waste $200?

#19 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,053 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 04 July 2013 - 07:35 AM

Did I just waste $200?

 

 

No, just the shipping costs.  Any part ordered from RepairClinic can be returned for any reason for up to one year, including electrical parts that were already installed.  If you ordered the part through this site, you're covered.  






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics