Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore Refridgerator Model 253.53622300 Start Device replacement


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 rustygammill

rustygammill

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:GOOD IPA

Posted 29 June 2013 - 06:39 PM

The start device/relay I can take off the compressor but the problem is it has a blue and red wire attached.  I don't see where to disconnect.  Do I cut and get new wire and reconnect on replacement or am I missing something?



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 vee8power

vee8power

    Kohai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 421 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Folgers

Posted 29 June 2013 - 07:08 PM

The picture of the start device from repair clinic shows it comes with a plug with two wires that you can splice onto- easy peasy.

For some reason I am having trouble copying and pasting links onto my replies. If you look up your part on repair clinic, the picture should tell you .



#3 rustygammill

rustygammill

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:GOOD IPA

Posted 29 June 2013 - 07:28 PM

I see the repair clinics picture, but what is the connector for on the wire.  Why isnt the wire already connected to the start device.  So do I cut cables on the start device I have know?  I am a newbie as far as refrigerator repair.  Any help greatly appreciated!!



#4 SANTA

SANTA

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 815 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Windsor/Molson

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:31 PM

Yes, cut the wires on the old start device, splice in the new wires with the plug on it, plug it into the new start device and attach to the compressor.



#5 rustygammill

rustygammill

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:GOOD IPA

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:38 PM

Thank you so much!

#6 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,808 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 30 June 2013 - 03:45 AM

Start device part link: http://www.repaircli...er=253.53622300




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics