Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

SxS Whirlpool compressor really hot / model ed56hgxmb00/

refrigerator compressor hot

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 09 July 2013 - 09:56 AM

this side by side Whirlpool unit is cooling fine, condenser coils are clean,(i bought this used to resale) someone has put access valves on the high and low side, so i know that the system has been tampered with. I put my guages on the low side and showed a consistant 2 psi over a couple of days.I checked start and run windings on compressor (resistance) all good there.I also checked for continuity to the compressor casing , no problems found. Amp draw test shows (1.86 amps) on start  winding and the same on run winding , 0 on common(this is measuring the 3 wires at the compressor as i have installed a 3 in 1 hard start . Also evaporator coils have full frost pattern with no frost/ice blockage.



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 09 July 2013 - 10:00 AM

This site  http://www.packardon...tem_Id=10039923 (diff. part number) shows different amp readings than what i am getting. Did i measure the amps correctly.


Edited by vunger1, 09 July 2013 - 10:07 AM.


#3 PDuff

PDuff

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,877 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Ice (Yeah, I know)

Posted 09 July 2013 - 10:46 AM

Double check that model number.  Probably would be best to replace that 3n1 with the proper relay and overload to protect the compressor.



#4 bigbuck

bigbuck

    Sōhei

  • Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Red Wine

Posted 09 July 2013 - 12:54 PM

Yeah  3n1 is a no no.



#5 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 10 July 2013 - 08:52 AM

correct model ed5ghgxmb00


What is the no no about 3 n1


Edited by vunger1, 10 July 2013 - 08:51 AM.


#6 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 656 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 10 July 2013 - 10:00 AM

It has a start capacitor which can burn up the compressor and also provides no overload protection for it.
"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

#7 PDuff

PDuff

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,877 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Ice (Yeah, I know)

Posted 10 July 2013 - 02:48 PM

Good frost pattern.  Replace that 3n1 with a Klixon relay and overload and compressor should run at normal temps.



#8 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 656 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 10 July 2013 - 05:41 PM

Electrolux warning against the use of 3'n'1 hard start kits.
http://appliantology...ctrolux-policy/
"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

#9 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 09 August 2013 - 09:43 AM

Good frost pattern.  Replace that 3n1 with a Klixon relay and overload and compressor should run at normal temps.

How does a 3 n1 make a compressor run hot after startup. I am asking from a position of ignorance , as i am new to sealed system work. Looking for all the info i can get.



#10 PDuff

PDuff

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,877 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Ice (Yeah, I know)

Posted 09 August 2013 - 11:32 AM

It's in the design.  Even if the 3 n' 1 is strapped to the case of the compressor, it's just not sensitive enough to read the temperature of the winding.  The bi-metal type overload that is used with the Klixon type relay is designed for these compressors clips directly on the terminal, allowing it to better sense the heat or amperage draw from excessive compressor run time.



#11 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 09 August 2013 - 01:34 PM

It's in the design.  Even if the 3 n' 1 is strapped to the case of the compressor, it's just not sensitive enough to read the temperature of the winding.  The bi-metal type overload that is used with the Klixon type relay is designed for these compressors clips directly on the terminal, allowing it to better sense the heat or amperage draw from excessive compressor run time.

So you have overload protection, with oem Klixon type relay. But what does a hard start do that makes a compressor run hot, during the course of normal run time?


why would the compressor in my case be so hot, with good frost pattern, normal amp draw, and good ohms readings on the windings?



#12 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 656 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 09 August 2013 - 02:04 PM

It has a start capacitor which can burn up the compressor and also provides no overload protection for it.


"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

#13 vunger1

vunger1

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:maxwell house regular blend

Posted 09 August 2013 - 02:07 PM

 

It has a start capacitor which can burn up the compressor and also provides no overload protection for it.

 

Ok so the start capacitor on the hard start, apparently stays engaged and puts too much current to the start windings and these windings are always energized if the compressor is running?



#14 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 09 August 2013 - 04:06 PM

If you wire a 3-n-1 to a good Compressor,

and can use the original Overload device,

they may be OK.

 

I don't know if all 3-n-1 start Relays use Start Capacitors.

I don't know if they are all called "Hard Start Kits"

Mainly used on "already bad", "dying"  Compressors as a last resort while shopping for a new Fridge

 

There are also solid-state Start Relays (they are OK)


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#15 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,163 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 10 August 2013 - 08:22 AM

Here's the start device kit you need, works with lots of other models, too.  I keep two of these kits in the The Guru Mobile and a backup kit on the parts shelves in my garage:  http://www.repaircli...ber=ED5GHGXMB00

 

Start-Device-8201786-01023086.jpg

 

 

Here's using it in live action!

 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics