Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Frigidaire FDE647RFS1 won't start


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 D.Whited

D.Whited

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beer

Posted 11 July 2013 - 02:13 PM

working on a 

Frigidaire FDE647RFS1

It won't start, has power , fuseable link checks out ok.

When plugged in the light inside the dryer does come on.

but when you turn the time it doesn't move on it's own , no clicking sound either.

press start button nothing.

This is brother inlaw they bought it a few months ago and are just finishing building the house.

they put a new power cord on this looks good

have 110v fron neutral to either side and 240 on the outside so power looks good.

also door switch test ok



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Spannerwrench

Spannerwrench

    Senpai

  • Chief Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 609 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Maxwell House > Black Crown > Crown Royal with Ginger Ale

Posted 11 July 2013 - 02:17 PM

If it's brand new you should contact the manufacturer for service because it is still under warranty.
"Suds are not good"
"They write directions for a reason"
"Make sure you're using it right before you say it's not working correctly"
"If if has a Diagnostic Test Cycle, Run it before and after you fix it!"
"Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is insane"
"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong."

#3 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 11 July 2013 - 02:19 PM

1) Has this Dryer worked OK after the Power Cord was changed ?
2) Did it fail before the Power Cord was changed ?
.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#4 D.Whited

D.Whited

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beer

Posted 11 July 2013 - 05:17 PM

was working when picked up. that is before the cord was replaced. the cord is ok.

I checked the voltages at the back of the dryer and are correct.

 

I suspect the timer but need input before ordering one.

whit the dryer pluged in the timer doesnot turn and there is no sound from the timer motor



#5 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 11 July 2013 - 05:56 PM

Why was the Power Cord changed ?

Was a 3-wire or was a 4-wire Cord ?
NOW a 3-wire or a 4-wire Cord ?

 

Does the Timer run or make noise if the Start Button is held in ?

Check the Timer Connector, may be loose from the move.

 

 

 

 


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#6 D.Whited

D.Whited

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beer

Posted 11 July 2013 - 06:40 PM

3 Wire Don't know why It didn't come with a cord

checking the timer motor tomorrow and will see if I have a spare kicking around .

no timer noise when start button held in

 

Question though, even if the timer motor was bad that should only mess up the dry times and cycles.

Shouldn't It still start when manually put to say mid cycle



#7 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 11 July 2013 - 07:05 PM

... 3 Wire Don't know why It didn't come with a cord

...Question though, even if the timer motor was bad that should only mess up the dry times and cycles.

1) with a 3-wire Cord, there should also be a Strap or Wire from the Dryer Center Terminal to the (chassis / ground / cabinet)

2) Maybe bad Timer internal contacts, OR a bad Timer Motor, but not both at the same time. . .  

check that connector... the Cement Balancing Weights may have disloged it.


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Boot Camp | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics