Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Horrible Smell from Magic Chef MCBR-1010w

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Chad ONeal

Chad ONeal

Samanera

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 July 2013 - 10:15 PM

Hello all. My first post here, as this is my first attempt of actually communicating with someone directly about my problem. I have exhausted most efforts I believe. I've watched youtube videos, asked local HVAC guys, and attempted to access every and all user servicable locations on this refridgerator. The fridge is model MCBR-1010w from Magic Chef. It works great, is very clean. I am not 100% if this is the culprit, but I had some fresh fish in a ziplock bag on the bottom rack shelf defrosting. Some of the juice drtipped down to the glass floor and crisper buckets, noticed before 12 hours had even passed. A smell was eminating from the fridge, but pulling the fish out and smelling the bag of fish isolated from the cabanet, I smelt no fowl odor. I completely removed all items, lysol with bleach cleaned the fridge top to bottom, fridge and freezer, and the smell was noticable after an hour of the bleach smell wearing off. I unplugged the fridge, took it out side, pulled every shelf and crisper drawer out, sprayed the whole thing inside and out top to bottom with bleach, let it side sprayede it again then hosed it out. I then sprayed lysol