Jump to content


Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Samsung RF217ACWP refrigerator not cooling


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:01 AM

The unit started out with the freezer getting warm and the refrigerator was ok,( twin cooling system), now I can't get either one to cool and the unit will not go into self diagnostics so I can see whats going on. Measured the sensors and one seemed a high resistance so I replaced it but still not cooling. Any idea's?



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 DurhamAppliance

DurhamAppliance

    Sho' Nuff Chozin

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 4,860 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bells Two Hearted

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:04 AM

typically, if you can't get into diagnostic mode you are dealing with a bad board unless your interface is malfunctioning. Samsung fridges are all about diagnostics. I am certain you unplugged the machine to try and reset the board, correct?

Durham Appliance Thrift & Repair, LLC

www.DurhamApplianceThrift.com


#3 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:36 AM

Correct, it was unplugged and I still could not get into diagnostics, when I tried the double 8 segments were off with no segments lit.



#4 PDuff

PDuff

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,976 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Ice (Yeah, I know)

Posted 15 August 2013 - 01:24 PM

Dave, are you getting anything on the interface, display wise?



#5 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,890 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 15 August 2013 - 03:05 PM

Are you holding the button sequence until the 88 stops flashing. Or will it even recognize any button presses at all.

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#6 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,373 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 16 August 2013 - 08:35 AM

typically, if you can't get into diagnostic mode you are dealing with a bad board unless your interface is malfunctioning. Samsung fridges are all about diagnostics. 

 

 

Main PCB:  http://www.repaircli...umber=RF217ACWP

 

Main-Control-Board-DA41-00695A-01596229.



#7 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 07:48 AM

Still not cooling with new board, I have been holding the buttons untill the 88's go out but after releasing them the display numbers go blank with new board and old.

Compressor is running but not cooling?? Have I lost all my freon in the sealed system?



#8 DurhamAppliance

DurhamAppliance

    Sho' Nuff Chozin

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 4,860 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bells Two Hearted

Posted 22 August 2013 - 08:10 AM

Could be the LED interface but let's check for a sealed system problem first. Is the compressor warm and vibrating? Is it running all the time? evap fans running? pictures of evap frost patterns will be helpful.

Durham Appliance Thrift & Repair, LLC

www.DurhamApplianceThrift.com


#9 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 08:40 AM

I'm trying to get this one fixed for a customer. Compressor is running,(vibrating) and hot. Interface is showing what is probably actual temp as no cooling is occurring , cond. fan is running and there was no frost or anything on freezer evap. coil and I have not removed refrigerator back panel until I see some type of cool down anywhere is this twin cooling system.  I can,t hear either evap. fan running when the doors are open.



#10 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 22 August 2013 - 09:58 AM

... Compressor is running,(vibrating) and hot.
... no cooling is occurring ,
... no frost or anything on freezer evap. coil

may be a sealed system leak ...
Has this Fridge been moved from a previous location recently ?


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#11 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,890 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 09:59 AM

The evap fans will not run with the door open. I saw that you cant run diagnostics but can you run forced mode? If you unplug the unit and plug it back in it should automatically display any codes on the screen.

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#12 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 10:46 AM

I  thought that was the case with the evap. fans, I'll be over there this afternoon and see if I can get any codes and try to run in forced mode.



#13 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 10:53 AM

It is my understanding that the unit has not been moved recently and the problem started with the freezer section warming up then the refrigerator, I'm not seeing any codes show up and number display is blank when buttons are released after 8 secs. I will see if I can get into force mode later this afternoon



#14 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,890 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 11:50 AM

You do have the fast track manual right?

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#15 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 12:40 PM

I do not have the fast track manual but do have access to the service manual, are they different?



#16 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,890 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 22 August 2013 - 01:01 PM

Yes. The service manual actually has more info so thats great

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#17 Dave Harmony

Dave Harmony

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Harpoon IPA

Posted 23 August 2013 - 06:41 AM

Well, both frige and freezer are at room temp, compressor running and hot, I am unable to run in manual, I hold the 2 power freeze and power cool buttons for 8 secs., the numbers light up and then display is blank, I try pushing any other button and it does nothing, eventually reverting back to the prior settings. It seems like its a sealed system problem but the inability to get into manual mode troubles me. Any thoughts? This guy's unit is only 2 yrs. old and he has the longer warranty on the sealed system. I'm thinking of putting his old parts back in and have him call Samsung.



#18 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,890 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 23 August 2013 - 01:13 PM

So the compressor is running? You said it had been moved recently. Did it get layed down? Still no frost on evap? Soundd like sealed system to me.

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#19 PDuff

PDuff

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,976 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Ice (Yeah, I know)

Posted 23 August 2013 - 01:27 PM

Sealed system issue probably resulting in a compressor replacement, as well as the interface board.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics