Jump to content


Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Estate washer, motor switch


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 curjones

curjones

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:diet coke

Posted 25 August 2013 - 06:50 PM

Estate washer ETW440WQ1,  has motor w10210608.  I posted on this before, got it going customer buys takes home  and it wont kick off just hums. I mess with the end shaft, and it runs fine can't make it fail now.  This mottor does not have the old style centri. switch, has a diffrent built in style. can this switch be removed and inspected.  I see this motor has for socket head screws, that appears to allow the top to be removed, and gain access to the switch.  I've not torn into it yet, if you have  pictures of how this switch works please let me know,  One of the  wire connectors may be loose, not as tight, firm.



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:39 PM

.... and it wont kick off just hums... I mess with the end shaft, and it runs fine can't make it fail now. 
... This mottor does not have the old style centri. switch, has a diffrent built in style.

... can this switch be removed and inspected. 

1) may also be a bad Timer

2) pictures ?

3) held on by one screw ?


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#3 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:46 PM

   Might just be a bad motor. This is one of the last consumer direct drive Whirlpool models made and uses a cheap chinese made motor. Washer has single speed motor but you can just put in a standard 661600 two speed version.

 

Eric


Edited by fairbank56, 25 August 2013 - 07:51 PM.


#4 curjones

curjones

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:diet coke

Posted 25 August 2013 - 09:34 PM

I've started and stopped it now 15-20 times and cant get it to fail.  I didnt take a picture of the motor.  When I first saw it I thought what now!!!  the block That looks like a switch is just a terminal connection point  (Reporting this for  reg us pat) and it is held by the traditional one screw.  Thanks eric for your input on the motor.  I need to find out more details on the compatablity, or cross over of motors.  ie you can use a two speed motor in place of a one speed.  I have a three speed motor out of one unit, but don't know which one can be used here or there.  I've noticed there seems to be no standard wire colors used for the motor leads coming from windings.



#5 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 25 August 2013 - 09:53 PM

...  I have a three speed motor out of one unit,

part number ?

OR washer model ?


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#6 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:32 PM

  Yes, you can use the two speed motor part number 661600 in place of the one speed motor in this washer. In fact, if you check for parts for this washer at repairclinic or appliancepartspros, you will see that this is the replacement motor for this washer. The motor in this washer is a piece of chinese made junk. Whirlpool does use a standard color code for their motors but the chinese made motors do not follow this code. You can find photo's of that chinese motor on ebay.

 

Eric



#7 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,382 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 26 August 2013 - 06:37 AM

 The motor in this washer is a piece of chinese made junk. 

 

Looks like they're making 'em in the USA now:

 

00632464.jpg

 

 

http://www.repaircli...r/661600/675936



#8 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 26 August 2013 - 07:33 AM

  That's not the motor in question. Yes, most Whirlpool washer motors are made in the U.S. or Mexico. There were junk chinese knock-offs made that did not have the FSP label on them. Apparently, in the last production of consumer direct drive models, Whirlpool got their motors from China and they do have the FSP label on them. but they are the same junk. Here's the motor in question.

 

WhirlpoolChineseMotor2.jpg

 

WhirlpoolChineseMotor1.jpg


Edited by fairbank56, 26 August 2013 - 07:34 AM.


#9 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,382 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 26 August 2013 - 07:45 AM

Sorry, could you repeat the question?   :blinky:



#10 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 26 August 2013 - 07:53 AM

  I've noticed there seems to be no standard wire colors used for the motor leads coming from windings.

 

  Whirlpool standard color code:

 

Single speed motor.

white - neutral from power cord

white/black - neutral after thermal overload to timer

blue - high speed winding

black and yellow - start winding

 

Two speed motor.

white - neutral from power cord

white/black - neutral after thermal overload to timer

blue - high speed winding

violet - low speed winding

black and yellow - start winding

 

Three speed motor

white - neutral from power cord

white/black - neutral after thermal overload to timer

blue - high speed winding

white/violet - medium speed winding

white/orange - low speed winding

black and yellow - start winding

 

Some later models use gray for neutral from power cord

 

Chinese motors, who knows.

 

Whirlpool has different ways of designating their windings. Some diagrams use high, med, low, some high, low, extra low, some high, normal, low.

Some of their three speed motors have all connections except neutral at the motor connector with neutral connected directly to the thermal overload switch, others have a two conductor pigtail connector for the two low speed windings. There is a quirk with a couple different models of the three speed motor without pigtail connector in which the yellow and white/violet wire are reversed, yellow still being start winding and white/violet still medium speed winding but just reversed connected at the switch.

 

Eric


Edited by fairbank56, 26 August 2013 - 07:58 AM.


#11 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,382 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 26 August 2013 - 08:08 AM

Excellent info on Whirlpool washer motors!  Domo, Brother Eric!  



#12 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 26 August 2013 - 08:17 AM

  That chinese motor has too many wires on it for a single speed version. May be a three speed but they just label it differently depending what washer it's going in? Would like to see a photo of your motor harness connector clearly showing the wiring.

 

Eric



#13 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 26 August 2013 - 02:14 PM

  So it looks like on this chinese motor, the black receptacle is the switch but the motor centrifugal mechanism operates it differently than the "standard" Whirlpool motors. It doesn't use the white pivoting lever arm like the switches we are used to. Clearly, this motor is multi-speed based on the number of wires but the washer in question only uses high speed.

 

WhirlpoolChineseMotor4.jpg

 

WhirlpoolChineseMotor5.jpg



#14 curjones

curjones

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:diet coke

Posted 27 August 2013 - 01:25 AM

you are all over it eric, thats exactly the motor in question, I can set it up, and get a humm, like the switch is not made for start winding, through the cin. switch. I'm suspecting too the wire going to the switch could be getting loose. What i have done is removed the water pupm and spin the motor and it will run fine. I test and test.. one more test, shake the unit move it around and can't get it to fail. But load it on a customers truck have them take it home and they call you. It won't do anything. This is a resale unit for me, but I sure scrached my head wondering if i was ever going to get a grasp on washer motors, if they kept on doing junk like this. Thanks for all the help and wisdom.

#15 curjones

curjones

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:diet coke

Posted 27 August 2013 - 01:38 AM

thats the same wire set up I have estate mod etw4400wq1 two speed, ser #c03221644.  I need to brush up on how to find the age of a machine by serial number so I can tell customers how old the machine is.  I've started telling them the older the more reliable. lol..

I hate seing the old ones on trailers going to scrap yard.



#16 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 27 August 2013 - 02:14 AM

... how to find the age of a machine by serial number.

here's one

http://www.appliance...e/date-code.php


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#17 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 27 August 2013 - 08:37 AM

  You need to make some voltage checks to determine where the problem is when the unit is failing to start. Could be the motor switch, timer, capacitor, motor or wiring issue (bad connection). See if you can take the cover off the start switch. On the old style, they just come right off after you remove the screw. The contacts are inside as in this photo of an older one with dirty start switch contact. The W in that model number means that model was introduced in 2009. Your serial number indicates it was actually manufactured in August 2010. The new Whilrpool belt drive design was introduced in 2010 and started with an X in the model numbers.

 

Eric

 

WhirlpoolMotorSwitch1.jpg



#18 curjones

curjones

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:diet coke

Posted 29 August 2013 - 11:39 PM

Do you have a print for this model. I dont have one and was trying to figure out if in fact this is a two, speed mtr, I concluded it is not, the machine control panel says its a two speed, but since the motor switch box, (black) has not got any switches, I dont see how it can be two speed. looking at pic of black box switch you have posted. right side Brn goes to switch in motor, come out to first left side black, which is jumpered to second black in the box. Black wire is the start winding.
Red wire is the black white from motor
Blue normal high hot.
yellow is start winding back side normal
white is white netural feed

Im also wondering if there is an overload, my guess is no, dont see one
The wire harness that connects to the box doesnt have enough wires to be two speed
This may be a good case for false advertising,

#19 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 30 August 2013 - 08:41 AM

... Do you have a print for this model.

... I dont have one and was trying to figure out if in fact this is a two, speed mtr, I concluded it is not,

... the machine control panel says its a two speed,

... Im also wondering if there is an overload

1) same wiring diagram as: http://appliantology...801-tech-sheet/

2) original is one speed, replacement is two speed (only one speed used)

3) does it say "two speed" OR does it say Normal & Delicate cycles ?

4) overload is built into the Motor


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#20 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Senpai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 959 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 30 August 2013 - 09:00 AM

  Washer is advertised as "2 Wash/Spin Speed Combinations". This is BS. The timer does have an intermittent agitate for gentle cycle in which it agitates for a bit, then pauses for a bit. I guess that's their "second speed". Doesn't do it in spin though.

 

Eric






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics