Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore 417.42042100 front loader won't spin,agitate,or rotate at all


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 29 August 2013 - 12:53 PM

my Mothers Kenmore 417.42042100 model front loader will not rotate, or agitate at all as all cycles go through there fill up cycles then empty to go to the next one. It goes through all cycles in about 5 min. , since it can't agitate, or spin during rince, and spin cycles. Does that sound like something that is common?  



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 bayouboy

bayouboy

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Abita Beer Purple Haze

Posted 29 August 2013 - 01:11 PM

did you check the belt on the back of washer?



#3 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 29 August 2013 - 02:17 PM

Not yet it's tight where she has it ,I was wondering if it could be the door latch. Easy access from front. O.k. I'll slide it out and slip off the back and check that right away. My humble thanks bayouboy!!



#4 bayouboy

bayouboy

    Sōhei

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Abita Beer Purple Haze

Posted 29 August 2013 - 03:33 PM

During Spin, when the door is locked

is it really locked?

If so, then un-plug the Power Cord from the Wall Outlet.

Can you then open the door right away ?
OR only after a few minutes ?

 

Quoted from RegUS_PatOff


 



#5 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 30 August 2013 - 05:36 PM

I went over to Mom's to check suggestions on door locking during cycle. Couldn't open during two spin cycles. I had to slide out machine to take off back. I took off belt, and put on heavy wash cycle and the motor did not rotate belt wheel during cycle.  I tested harness to six pole clip 5 to 6 and got 120 Vac on voltage. Do I need continuity tester to check connections. I did not test the door opening right after unplugging machine; or minutes after to see if it would as you said bayouboy. Does that happening indicate a door latch, or timer line problem?  


The motor does not turn at all during all cycles



#6 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 693 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 30 August 2013 - 08:37 PM

i would suspect the speed control board



#7 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,800 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 31 August 2013 - 10:28 AM

i would suspect the speed control board

 

 

Me too.  Almost every time I see a no-motor movement problem in these machines, it's a bad speed control board:  http://www.repaircli...er=417.42042100

 

Motor-Control-Board-134149220-00710323.j

 

Occasionally a loose wire harness connector on the board.

 

I think I've only seen one bad motor in these units.  



#8 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 05 September 2013 - 03:13 PM

Sorry guys. I figured it might happen. I installed the speed control panel, and there is still something happening that keeps it from engaging motor. does the door lock button light stay on for the cycles when engaged? It's on all the cycle. Also  I tried the release on the door lock in the spin cycle , then unplugged like bayouboy told me and you can open the door right after you pull the plug. right away.Also the old speed control board had a fuse or circuit that broke off board right under the 10 point plug in. Does anybody know why after installing the new board this would happen? 



#9 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 05 September 2013 - 03:21 PM

sorry, I mean there was a circuit broke off the old one . new one has everything.



#10 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 05 September 2013 - 04:30 PM

Any way I'm going back to test continuity between 10 point harness and 6 point. I had a old voltage regulator that I used to test between 5 and 6 of the 6 pole harness. I'm not sure if I need a continuity tester, or will the voltage regulator work?  



#11 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 05 September 2013 - 08:43 PM

During Spin, when the door is locked

is it really locked?

If so, then un-plug the Power Cord from the Wall Outlet.

Can you then open the door right away ?
OR only after a few minutes ?

 

Quoted from RegUS_PatOff

 

A question please, I tried the door lock check and found that while running spin cycle and it's locked tight. then quick un-plug and I could open it right away. Sound like door lock problem?



#12 zemancarp

zemancarp

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:guiness

Posted 05 September 2013 - 08:55 PM

During Spin, when the door is locked

is it really locked?

If so, then un-plug the Power Cord from the Wall Outlet.

Can you then open the door right away ?
OR only after a few minutes ?

 

Quoted from RegUS_PatOff

 

I tested spin cycle and the door is defiantly locked while running. After words I pulled the plug and could open the door right away.Is that a indication of a door lock switch problem? 



#13 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 05 September 2013 - 09:26 PM

yes, probably won't do high-speed Spin with Door Latch problem


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics