Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.

Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

To get started, click here.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Amana Bottom Freezer Dying?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Franz Metcalf

Franz Metcalf

Samanera

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 05 September 2013 - 05:39 PM

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, just trying to troubleshoot an old Amana BRF20 from 1999. No problems with it (aside from some vegetable freezing) until now when, during a heatwave, the freezer just won't freeze anymore. I've followed the flowchart and am worried I'm headed to "sealed system failure." Yes, the condenser coils were filthy. I've vacuumed them, though I'll need a real deal brush to get them truly clean. Yes, the cooling fan for the coils is working. (I rolled the unit out, took of the back, and cleaned from there, so I've seen it in action.) Yes, the evaporator fan is running. (At least I can feel the cold [perhaps I should say "cool"] air flowing.) I don't seem able to attach photos, so let me describe the evaporator. When I first took off the freezer back to view it, it had a small amount of ice relatively evenly across the tops of the fins. I unplugged the unit when doing my cleaning. It's been on again for at least 40 minutes, and the evaporator has no ice at all. Indeed, it has drops of water dripping down it. I'm doomed, aren't I?