Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Maytag Neptune washer mah3000aww stops at rinse cycle


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 04 November 2013 - 11:45 AM

I have Maytag NeptuneMAH3000AWW washer that stopped working the other day. Wife put in a pillow that I think caused the failure. Prior to that we already had a problem where the clothes were coming in wet after a wash. I ignored that for quite some time. 
 
After it stopped working (ie, one start the power came on, and started to fill water and immediately after water fill, machine stopped). After looking on the internet, I inspected the R11 and Q6 and I dont see any burn marks. I looked at it closely and no damage. I did not remove the board to look underneath. 
 
I removed the front panel, and I see that I have a wax motor with brown tip. But I presume this is not the problem since R11 and Q6 are not burnt. I noticed the 3 switched and pushed the button on each of the 3 switches and on closing and trying again, this time the wash proceeded until the spin cycle and stopped at the beginning of rinse. 
 
After shutting off and on a brand new day, checked water pressure for both cold and hot, checked the inlet pipes for any dirt. everything is okay and there is good water pressure. Put the clothes in, set to warm/warm. Machine stopped in the middle of spin cycle. turned the knob to rinse 1, but stops after water fills. it will not rinse. Noticed that the water going in is only cold and not warm. 
 
What is the problem with this machine ? 
 


Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,617 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 05 November 2013 - 03:57 AM

 it will not rinse. Noticed that the water going in is only cold and not warm. 

 

 

Clarify this statement, please.  Are you saying that only cold water enters the drum at any time during the cycle?  Or are you saying that only cold water enters drum during rinse?



#3 PDuff

PDuff

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,011 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Bud Ice (Yeah, I know)

Posted 05 November 2013 - 02:06 PM

Does the door lock and the lock led light?  If unit started acting up after washing the pillow you might check the tub displacement switch located on the right side of the outer tub.  Might also have some restriction in the sump hose judging from the wet clothes complaint after wash.



#4 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 05 November 2013 - 02:22 PM

Only cold water enters in the rise even though the setting was warm/warm. Warm water flows during wash cycle no problem. Thanks.



#5 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 06 November 2013 - 12:28 PM

Door light does lock with the red LED. but there is a delay sometimes for it to turn ON. 


Is there a way to check the tub displacement switch ? I tried shorting the switch with a wire but issue remains same.



#6 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 10 November 2013 - 12:53 PM

Can somebody please help on how to proceed. 



#7 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,617 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 10 November 2013 - 01:54 PM

Will the machine run the basic motor function test? http://fixitnow.com/...eptune-washers/

#8 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 28 December 2013 - 06:11 PM

Thank You so much. 

 

After giving up for a few weeks, I decided to test the machine again today. The power was unplugged, I plugged it back in. The machine worked perfectly fine !!! I just finished 2 loads !!!

 

Not sure what is going on with this machine. I noticed that the clothes were coming out a bit wet though. I rinsed it with hand before throwing it in the dryer. It was like this earlier as well. Why is it coming out wet ? Anything I should be doing ?

 

Also, any ideas on what is going on with this machine ?

 



#9 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 08 January 2014 - 07:47 PM

Worked for one day. Wife put another load the day after, and the machine stopped at cycle 1. Got a replacement unbalanced switch and after replacement, machine again stopped at beginning of wash cycle 1. turning knob to final rinse and the machine spun hard (harder than usual I think) to drain and then stopped. but machine stops midway after the water fills and a few rotations. Help !!! 



#10 MA tech.

MA tech.

    Sōhei

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Amstel Light

Posted 08 January 2014 - 07:54 PM

Do you notice any motor movement?



#11 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 08 January 2014 - 07:56 PM

Yes the drum was spinning if that was what you meant ...



#12 MA tech.

MA tech.

    Sōhei

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Amstel Light

Posted 08 January 2014 - 07:57 PM

Sounds like motor or motor control. More than likely you can't replace one without the other as the software isn't compatible.



#13 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,617 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 08 January 2014 - 07:59 PM

Yes the drum was spinning if that was what you meant ...

 

 

Just tumbling (back and forth) or doing high speed spin?



#14 MA tech.

MA tech.

    Sōhei

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Amstel Light

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:02 PM

I just saw Samurai's posted link for motor diagnosis. Have you done those tests?


ANd is it high speed spin or just sort of rotating?



#15 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:11 PM

Yes definitely high speed spin ...



#16 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 08 January 2014 - 08:49 PM

clarification Samurai - it spins with very high speed.



#17 kalilbm

kalilbm

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: Canada

Posted 07 March 2014 - 12:24 PM

The machine finally seems dead. On pressing the ON button, water will begin to flow for like 15 seconds, and then a noticeable decrease in water flow speed and then machine turns OFF. I know there is no issue with water pressure or blockage in the pipes. 

 

I could do the diagnostics Samurai mentioned since I do not have a multilmeter.

 

Any ideas or is it time to get a new washer ? 

 

Thank You !



#18 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,617 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 07 March 2014 - 01:19 PM

Here's a decent DIYer multimeter, #1 Best Seller on Amazon:  INNOVA 3320 Auto-Ranging...



#19 MA tech.

MA tech.

    Sōhei

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Amstel Light

Posted 07 March 2014 - 01:44 PM

Sounds like the motor control board. If you have the tech sheet run the diagnostics and find the section that details the MCU test. If this is the case likely the MCU comes as kit a new motor as well.

#20 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,617 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 07 March 2014 - 07:57 PM

Motor and control board kit Part number: AP4010145

Part number: AP4010145






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics