Jump to content


Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Whirlpool WFW9400SW03 F73 Error


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 devilslettuce

devilslettuce

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Skol

Posted 08 November 2013 - 05:28 PM

I've recieved an F73 Error the moment I plut this washer in, no other funcion or controls will operate.

 

 

I read that F70-F73 are all the same Heartbear Error.

 

 

Any one experienced in this one?

 



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,856 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 08 November 2013 - 05:43 PM

No , but I would pop the hood and start looking for loose or partially connected plugs on the CCU, MCU, and UI boards...of which there are a crap ton load of.. that is if feel like it. If it is new...I would call for service or take it back as it should be in warranty.
t
As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#3 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,382 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 08 November 2013 - 07:02 PM

Same MO as the infamous F11 error code. And same solution.



#4 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,184 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 09 November 2013 - 08:34 PM

On this machine, a problem with the MCU will give a false user interface heartbeat error. Let's hear it for Whirlpools engineers......

 

or maybe this is another time to deal out a good kick in the 'nads


" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#5 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,382 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 09 November 2013 - 08:49 PM

Try disconnecting the MCU-CCU harness from the MCU and see if the control panel lights up like it wants to run:

 

gallery_4_5_80497.png



#6 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 655 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 10 November 2013 - 08:25 AM

is it giving you the "beep, beep, beep" of death? when you press power



#7 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,184 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:15 AM

Samurai,

 

How are you making those close up photos? They are nice and clear, is this from your smart phone or a digital camera?

 

Nick


" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#8 MicaBay

MicaBay

    Master Roaster

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Drifter Pale Ale

Posted 10 November 2013 - 09:45 AM

Samurai,

 

How are you making those close up photos? They are nice and clear, is this from your smart phone or a digital camera?

 

Nick

If I'm not mistaken, I read once that he does his videos and photos from an iPhone.  Not sure what vintage.



#9 devilslettuce

devilslettuce

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Skol

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:59 AM

Yes indeed I do get the 3 beeps of death the moment i plug in.  Then F73 on screen,

 

 

i've opened the machine up and have ensured all connections on both control boards are connected. I did try removing the blue cable as well but same beeps and code. i'm going to move onto trying to remove the PCB's and verify ok connections on the boards.



#10 devilslettuce

devilslettuce

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Skol

Posted 10 November 2013 - 12:15 PM

found it, bad connecton not on the CCU or MCU but rather F73 is a bad connection on the front panel control board.

 

 i can see where a technician even tried to repair the connector and put this name on a label.

 

 

ill repair and test



#11 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,382 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 10 November 2013 - 02:05 PM

Samurai,

How are you making those close up photos? They are nice and clear, is this from your smart phone or a digital camera?

Nick

I used to carry a separate camera with me on service calls to take photographs. This particular photo, in fact, was taken with such a separate camera.

Nowadays, however, the iPhone camera is such good quality that I use it for all photographs and videos.



found it, bad connecton not on the CCU or MCU but rather F73 is a bad connection on the front panel control board.

i can see where a technician even tried to repair the connector and put this name on a label.


ill repair and test



Nice shootin'! Did you happen to get any photographs of the mangled connection?

#12 devilslettuce

devilslettuce

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Flavorite Brew:Skol

Posted 10 November 2013 - 08:27 PM

I do have a photo, its not the best shot ever but I do have it. Was trying to figure out how to post the image on here by uploading.



#13 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,382 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:09 PM

Click the regular replay button instead of using the fast reply box below. You'll see an option to attach photos to your post.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics