Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

WTW4950XW0 not spinning


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 '85FieroGT

'85FieroGT

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 November 2013 - 09:45 AM

I've already checked everything under the tub.  Pulley nut is tight, belt is good, etc.  When I took out the basket it looks like there should be some splines in the hub. There are no splines.  I'm guessing this is my problem.  Can this hub be replaced?  I couldn't tell if it came out of the basket.



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,845 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:02 AM

Sounds like you need the new bearing and shaft kit:  http://appliantology...ool-with-video/



#3 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 November 2013 - 11:03 AM

  This is a VMW belt drive, not Cabrio direct drive.

 

Eric



#4 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,845 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 11 November 2013 - 11:08 AM

That'll learn me to ignore the X in the model number!  Domo, Eric.  

 

When I took out the basket it looks like there should be some splines in the hub.

 

 

This is the hub assembly:  Part number: AP4557873

Part number: AP4557873

 

What part are you calling the hub?



#5 '85FieroGT

'85FieroGT

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 November 2013 - 08:23 PM

Yeah that whole assembly looks right.  Mine doesn't have splines anymore.  I didn't notice any screws holding mine in though.  Is the factory assembly the same as that one?



#6 '85FieroGT

'85FieroGT

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 November 2013 - 08:26 PM

I guess mine has funk covering the screws?



#7 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 711 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 11 November 2013 - 09:27 PM

yeah i find alot of these with lots of corrosion and the splines are gone, dig around in the crud and find the 6 Philips head screws



#8 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:47 PM

  Splines are gone on the drive block or spin tube?

 

Eric



#9 '85FieroGT

'85FieroGT

    Unsui

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:24 AM

The splines on the basket hub assembly that samurai posted a pic of are completely gone.  I suspect it was caused by a combination of corrosion and overloading.  Just waiting on a part now. Hopefully that is the only problem. 

 

Will I need to run the calibration program after putting this back together?



#10 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:44 AM

Ok, thanks. That part with the splines is actually the drive block. There's no splines in the tub hub but it all comes as a kit, hub/driveblock/tub-nut. Yes, you should run the calibration after replacing any part on these washers.

 

Eric



#11 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,845 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:44 AM

 

Will I need to run the calibration program after putting this back together?

 

Absotootly.  You should run calibration on this unit after you do any repair.  






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics