Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Update: Kenmore Oasis 110.28062800 LD code came back after replacing CPU board


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 frunch

frunch

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern Pumpkin Ale

Posted 11 November 2013 - 11:02 AM

Last week I ran into an F-32 code on a Kenmore Oasis top-load washer and I replaced the CPU board (http://www.repaircli...0189966/1469076) which seemed to fix the problem. After doing several loads, it apparently is bringing up an 'LD' code! :woot: I'm not sure what to do now, and am looking for guidance from the appliance repair masters here at appliantology.org.  

Update: I spoke to the customer a little while ago and they mentioned they've been trying different detergents, Tide pods ('He' as far as I know), Tide He detergent, and some environmentally friendly detergent (also 'He' as far as I know). I'm guessing this may be a sudsing issue, so I recommended they run white vinegar through the machine with hot water to clear out any soap residue.

Any suggestions? 

Thanks!
Trevor

 


Edited by frunch, 11 November 2013 - 11:59 AM.


Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 certified tech group 51

certified tech group 51

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 11 November 2013 - 12:30 PM

On this unit............ 'L D' stands for       Long Drain???...Check your tech sheet..



#3 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 11 November 2013 - 12:34 PM

How's the Drain Pump ?

How's the Drain Hoses ?

Does it drain completely ?

 

 


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw

#4 frunch

frunch

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern Pumpkin Ale

Posted 11 November 2013 - 11:13 PM

Yeah, it appears LD is 'Long Drain'.

Pump and hoses both tested fine (it did drain properly) a few days ago when I installed the new CPU.

Customer has been using a variety of different detergents, and I'm wondering if excessive sudsing could be to blame?



#5 nickfixit

nickfixit

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,190 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Glen Livit

Posted 12 November 2013 - 05:33 AM

Could be foreign object in pump or under the spin basket.


" Giving numerical data to Sears management is like giving a monkey a machine gun. No one knows for certain what will happen, but you can be sure of two things... It will be real messy, and only the monkey will be unharmed"

#6 frunch

frunch

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern Pumpkin Ale

Posted 12 November 2013 - 08:39 PM

Thanks for the suggestions! If they call back (I'm guessing they will) I'll be sure to check the pump and pull out the basket to get a look underneath. I'll report back with results in the case I do go back out to check it again.



#7 frunch

frunch

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern Pumpkin Ale

Posted 10 December 2013 - 12:12 PM

Well, the customer called back yesterday to say the problem has unfortunately returned. Now they have an F-32 code and an F-70 code.

To recap: I originally found an F-32 code the first time I went there. Everything worked in diagnostic mode, so I replaced the motherboard w/ a brand new Whirlpool FSP motherboard.

The machine will run a cycle until it reaches the spin/drain cycle and then it stops working. According to the customer, the machine ran through 5 cycles without any trouble after replacing the motherboard then began flashing the F-32 code again. I went over and ran the diagnostic test which showed the F-32 and F-70 codes. Running the automatic test, I found everything worked except the circulator pump motor. It was humming, but it was not circulating the water back into the tub. Could that have any relation to the current problem? Or is this machine just living up to it's reputation as a piece of crap?!  :woot: Joking aside, I am at my wits end with this one. I did take out the circulator pump and checked for blockage, found none, re-installed it, and it worked. Not that I trust it to continue to work, but I couldn't come up with anything else to try. 

Regarding the F-70 code, would my next step be to pull the tub out to see if there's anything stuck beneath or on the side of it? It rotated fine by hand, but I forgot to check to see if it raises up/down to float when water fills the tub.  :whistling: 

Thanks for any/all suggestions!

Trevor



#8 frunch

frunch

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:River Horse Hipp-O-Lantern Pumpkin Ale

Posted 10 December 2013 - 05:56 PM

I went back to the customers house today and finally found the problem. It turns out they had 2 problems after all: the CPU was in need of replacement as I had done a couple weeks ago. But the new problem, the F-70 code, was due to a bad drum bearing. I wasn't aware that the inner tub should be able to float up as water fills the tub...and as it would happen, that's exactly what was happening---prompting the F-70 code. I managed to get the tub out to check for anything that may have been caught under it, and there was nothing there. It was when I was trying to get the tub out that I realized it was not moving up and down as it's supposed to. It would move, but not without applying a fair amount of force while lifting it up After putting the inner tub back in, it would not move up or down *at all*. With all the costs considered for repairs along with the age of the unit, the customer decided to go with a new washer. And NOT a Cabrio-style washer!  :laugh: 

This has been quite a learning experience, thanks to everyone who chimed in to help!

Trevor



#9 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,807 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 10 December 2013 - 06:00 PM

Way to stick with it, Frunch, and thanks for letting us know what you found!  

 

Hope you didn't have to take a bath on the new control board.  If you bought it from RC, you can return it for a refund.  






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics