Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore VMW will not go into final spin

vmw kenmore whirlpool no spin

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 07 December 2013 - 06:15 AM

I was working on a kenmore 110.21102011 vmv that would not go into final spin. It would work in automatic and manual test mode. I would the run a regular cycle and it would spin after the wash but then it would start to fill again and the cycle indicator would still say wash. It would then drain and fill again this time the lid lock would be flashing and it would only fill for a few seconds and then drain. It filled again this time with the lid lock off and the indicator light in rinse. It would then drain and the indicator would read spin, lid lock off and just sit there with no movement. I did the lid lock test in the tech sheet and the F7E1 test and they all seem ok. Has anyone else seen this problem?

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 27,902 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 07 December 2013 - 09:28 AM

Did you do the F7E1 test because that was the one stored in the control?

#3 gregaguilar

gregaguilar

    Yamabushi

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:bud lite

Posted 07 December 2013 - 09:42 AM

Had same problem check the two wires coming from capacitor anyway rite before you get to where the red roll of wire is there is an attachment to hold this wires together i have found on different occasions that either one of this wires is broken and no continuity. belive me for some reason they tightened this plastic tie down so tight that it breakes the wire on the inside. i repaired the white one and then on another occasion the red wire. keep me posted please



#4 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 07 December 2013 - 12:11 PM

Yes, that was the complaint and I found that fault in the controller

#5 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 27,902 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 07 December 2013 - 12:21 PM

Brother greg is onto something.  There's a service pointer out on this error code and one of the things to check is that wire loop (which, BTW, has been discontinued in current production VMW models because it was so problematic).  

 

Pointer and video are here:  http://appliantology...training-video/



#6 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 08 December 2013 - 04:00 PM

I'll check that out and keep you posted

#7 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 11 December 2013 - 03:08 PM

Ok, I went through all of the things on the bulletin. And replaced the board. Started the calibration mode and it goes through it until the spin part of the calibration and stops and the lid lock starts flashing. So I change the lid lock and do another calibration and it does the same thing. Large tufts of my hair are falling out right now.

#8 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 11 December 2013 - 05:19 PM

Anytime it try's to go into spin whether it's during manual test, automatic test, calibration or just running a cycle it will start to rev up then lid lock will flash and it will shut down.

#9 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 11 December 2013 - 06:34 PM

sounds like a bad speed sensor to me, i replace this part alot for the speed sensor issue as well as the actuator portion failing.



#10 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 27,902 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 11 December 2013 - 06:44 PM

Do you have a part number on that speed sensor, Brother sh2?

#11 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 11 December 2013 - 06:45 PM

Buuuut. When the customer runs a drain and spin it works : /

#12 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 11 December 2013 - 07:13 PM

speed sensor is the same part as the actuator,

 

Do you have a part number on that speed sensor, Brother sh2?

w10006355


Buuuut. When the customer runs a drain and spin it works : /

If the board is new, and the harness checks out good this is all thats left, i replace the speed sensor/actuator more then any other part on this machine



#13 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 11 December 2013 - 07:22 PM

W10006355 just ordered it.

#14 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 27,902 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 11 December 2013 - 07:43 PM

Ah, the shift actuator. That was the component the instructor pointed out as the most common problem in the video I linked you to. Did you watch it?

Part link to the shift actuator: http://www.repaircli...0006355/1719787

#15 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 11 December 2013 - 07:57 PM

Ah, the shift actuator. That was the component the instructor pointed out as the most common problem in the video I linked you to. Did you watch it?

Part link to the shift actuator: http://www.repaircli...0006355/1719787

yeah the part is listed as shift actuator but the basket speed sensor is also part of it



#16 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 11 December 2013 - 08:36 PM

Yes, I did check for the 13vdc on pins 4 and 5, had it and I also did the techometer test and it passed that. I'll try the shifter as soon as I get it in. I just don't have a warm and fuzzy feeling about it. Only because it passed the shifter test in the tech sheet.

#17 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 11 December 2013 - 08:44 PM

I am open to anything at this point. Just want to make the customer happy.

#18 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 11 December 2013 - 10:26 PM

Yes, I did check for the 13vdc on pins 4 and 5, had it and I also did the techometer test and it passed that. I'll try the shifter as soon as I get it in. I just don't have a warm and fuzzy feeling about it. Only because it passed the shifter test in the tech sheet.

i have had this before.  pass's all tests but give symptoms you are reporting, new "speedsensor"/shift actuator fixes problem.



#19 Buckeye310

Buckeye310

    Samanera

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Blue moon

Posted 13 December 2013 - 11:19 PM

Well that did the trick. Replaced the shifter and its working now. Take the tech sheet and burn it. Any way, I have a good stock of parts for the next VMW that run into. I want to thank all of you for helping me out on this one!

#20 mark mac

mark mac

    Sōhei

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts

Posted 15 December 2013 - 09:57 AM

found it easier to just replaced lower wire harness faster than tracking down a short







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: vmw, kenmore, whirlpool, no spin

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics