Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Payne Heat Pump - PH13NR060-E - No Hot Air


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Kaptain Kaos

Kaptain Kaos

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Mountain Dew

Posted 07 December 2013 - 03:51 PM

My sister has a Payne Heat Pump - PH13NR060-E - it blows air, just not hot air.

 

Suggestions for troubleshooting?

 

Thanks!

 

 



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Kaptain Kaos

Kaptain Kaos

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Mountain Dew

Posted 07 December 2013 - 04:52 PM

Update - The unit powers on but cuts off after about 5 seconds. 

 

Solenoid looks old, but OK, and switch looks good inside.  Suspect low pressure switch or coolant low/leak?  Suggestions welcome!



#3 jumptrout

jumptrout

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,379 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Coors Light

Posted 07 December 2013 - 05:48 PM

Yes,could be low on refrigerant or a bad pressure switch.

Without knowing the pressure,it would not be advisable to bypass the pressure switch.



#4 Kaptain Kaos

Kaptain Kaos

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Mountain Dew

Posted 07 December 2013 - 06:45 PM

Yes,could be low on refrigerant or a bad pressure switch.

Without knowing the pressure,it would not be advisable to bypass the pressure switch.

 

Tested the unit running cold - it still blows cold A/C, just cuts out when you run it hot.

 

Is there a reversing valve or something that could be faulty?



#5 jumptrout

jumptrout

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,379 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Coors Light

Posted 07 December 2013 - 09:55 PM

The unit utilizes more refrigerant at higher pressures in heat mode.

Again,could be refrigerant level,could be a bad pressure switch.

How old is this system?
Any history of refrigerant leaks?



#6 jumptrout

jumptrout

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,379 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Coors Light

Posted 07 December 2013 - 10:01 PM

To test the reversing valve,run the unit in COOL.

Disconnect the orange wire at the condensing unit and listen for the R/V to reverse.

If it does not reverse,make and break the orange wire several times until it does reverse.

Then leave the orange disconnected while you reset the thermostat for heat.

Then reconnect the orange wire.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics