Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Kenmore Washing machine Error code Sd


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 sco5678

sco5678

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Corona

Posted 17 December 2013 - 10:23 PM

I have a Kenmore Oasis Elite Model 110.28032700. I try and run a cycle and get a Sd error code almost at the end of cycle and the clothes are still very wet. I have tried to run drain and spin and get the same error code and clothes still soaking wet. I took apart the top of the washer and found 2 socks by the drain pump and thought that was the issue, so I ran a test drain and spin cycle and it was fine, put clothes back in and error code came back. Ran a full cycle with a few pieces of clothes and still got the error code and clothes still soaking wet.

Thanks for all your help

 



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,996 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 17 December 2013 - 11:21 PM

Are you using HE detergent? Too much detergent? SD is a sudsing error.

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#3 tpoindexter

tpoindexter

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beamish

Posted 17 December 2013 - 11:45 PM

You shouldn't be using over 2 tablespoon. Some detergent manufacturers will mislead you to use more than you should.

 

HE: (2) Tablespoons Per Wash Load

HE 2X: (1) Tablespoon

HE 3X: (1) Teaspoon


Edited by tpoindexter, 18 December 2013 - 12:13 AM.

Test

#4 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,996 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 17 December 2013 - 11:52 PM

You mean you don't fill to the line in the machine dispenser???

This is what I hear from many customers. The answer is no. Brother T is correct. He speaks the truth!!!

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#5 tpoindexter

tpoindexter

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beamish

Posted 17 December 2013 - 11:53 PM

 I took apart the top of the washer and found 2 socks by the drain pump and thought that was the issue, so I ran a test drain and spin cycle and it was fine, put clothes back in and error code came back. Ran a full cycle with a few pieces of clothes and still got the error code and clothes still soaking wet.

Thanks for all your help

Run washer through a rinse drain cycle. Then run it through a normal cycle with garments but without adding detergent. This should clear out all detergents.

If that fails:

You need to tip it back against the wall, disconnect hose from pump and check the pump and hoses for obstructions. If you got a shop vac it'll come in hand for the water when your taking. the lines loose.

If your still having problems post results and there's some more steps we can look at doing.


Edited by tpoindexter, 18 December 2013 - 12:03 AM.

Test

#6 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,996 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 18 December 2013 - 12:14 AM

If you find excess suds in machine while running an empty cycle, fabric softener will kill suds. Put a little directly in the tub while running.

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#7 sco5678

sco5678

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Corona

Posted 18 December 2013 - 11:17 AM

I am using HE detergent, so far I ran 2 cycles with no clothes and had no problems I added a few small towels (no soap) ran a cycle and got loads of suds, the error code and towels still wet. Going to try adding fabric softener and hope for the best. 



#8 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 18 December 2013 - 06:41 PM

drive shaft splines may be stripped at the basket hub, i have seen that numerous times.



#9 tpoindexter

tpoindexter

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beamish

Posted 18 December 2013 - 07:28 PM

drive shaft splines may be stripped at the basket hub, i have seen that numerous times.

that makes alot of sense with the error only occurring with a load.


Test

#10 sco5678

sco5678

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Corona

Posted 18 December 2013 - 08:37 PM

Ok I have used fabric softener and no longer have any suds but again when I add clothes I get the same error code. So my next step sounds like checking the basket hub, it has been going off balance a lot before this Sd error code. My only question now would be do the stripped splines keep the clothes from spinning out? 

 

Thanks agian



#11 tpoindexter

tpoindexter

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beamish

Posted 18 December 2013 - 08:55 PM

yes they would


Test

#12 sco5678

sco5678

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Corona

Posted 19 December 2013 - 07:49 PM

I have ordered the basket drive hub kit should be here Saturday will post follow up after installed hope this is the problem.

 

 

  •  
 


#13 telefunkenu47

telefunkenu47

    Kohai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 19 December 2013 - 08:59 PM

Could it be that the towels are loaded with detergent? I have seen this one before.


Even root canal is easy...if you're a dentist...

#14 sh2sh2

sh2sh2

    Senpai

  • Sublime Master of Appliantology
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 672 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:yeunling

Posted 19 December 2013 - 09:01 PM

when replacing the hub kit make sure the splines on the metal drive shaft are in good shape, i have seen the metal disintegrate away.



#15 sco5678

sco5678

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Corona

Posted 19 December 2013 - 10:06 PM

Thanks for the tip sh2sh2 I will check the drive shaft for that. @telefunkenu47 I don't think the towels are because I used fabric softener and there is no more suds but I will run another cycle to be sure. 



#16 sco5678

sco5678

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Corona

Posted 23 December 2013 - 11:40 PM

Ok I have replaced the bearing hub which the old one looked ok but I replaced it any way and the splines on the drive shaft are good, did the test run and drain and spin sd error code and when I did a full cycle about 30 min into the cycle the water level filled up to the top I pressed stop to drain the water out of the tub and there was a ul error code. So I think I have to call someone in to fix the washer. 



#17 applianceman97

applianceman97

    Baby Sensei

  • Grand Master Funk
  • 1,996 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Fresh Squeezed IPA

Posted 24 December 2013 - 10:36 AM

Grab the inside of the tub and pull up. The tub should lift up to the tub cover. This is a free floating tub. It acts like it's stuck. Make sure it moves up and down freely.

Kicks major Samsung booty first, asks diagnostic questions later.

http://www.justintimeappliance.com
 


#18 tpoindexter

tpoindexter

    Senpai

  • Master Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Beamish

Posted 24 December 2013 - 04:03 PM

Did you do the check for obstructions mentioned below?

 


You need to tip it back against the wall, disconnect hose from pump and check the pump and hoses for obstructions. If you got a shop vac it'll come in hand for the water when your taking. the lines loose.

If your still having problems post results and there's some more steps we can look at doing.


Test

#19 sco5678

sco5678

    Samanera

  • Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Corona

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:39 PM

OK follow up, repair man came and he checked the drain flow and said it was fine, then he said the main control board was shot so he replaced it with a new one, he then left and I started having the same problem again after one wash, he came back 3 days later and said it must be the drain pump not draining all the water, so he had a new one and he replaced it when he took the old one off the fins where worn down and it was not pumping strong enough so that was the problem.

 

Thank you everyone for your help

 

Jon



#20 MA tech.

MA tech.

    Sōhei

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Amstel Light

Posted 13 January 2014 - 10:55 PM

So he refunded you the cost of the board?? right?






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics