Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.

Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

To get started, click here.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Sub Zero 690/F Fridge is not cooling

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mjrgonorrhea

mjrgonorrhea

Unsui

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 December 2013 - 02:35 AM

I would like to start by saying that I have zero experience in repairing refrigerators. I just recently found a repair video for a SubZero, which helped me at least get an idea of what to look for and that's why I'm here. I'm fairly handy and can 'DIY' almost anything with enough knowledge and proper tools, so I would like to repair this one myself.

Our SubZero Fridge section has not been cooling properly for years. We have tried cleaning the condenser, but it hasn't made a noticeable difference. Just today, it completely stopped cooling and made the temperature go up to over 70 degrees (control panel readout). Some other little issues: the fridge door sticks out by about a quarter of an inch, the door gasket has a cut at the bottom, and the light switch is not working properly.

The freezer is working fine.

With all this trouble, I started reading similar threads and articles and realized that I may have missed the tell tale signs of a bad evaporator. If memory serves me correctly, I had a lot of ice buildup on the back panel/evaporator cover and standing water in the fridge.

I took the back panel off and here is what I saw.

01E3BD19-8E8D-42A2-AA48-335313121A01_zps

D7C73B47-1D04-4E2E-A351-E272397AD166_zps