Jump to content


Use this Search Box to Find Appliance Repair Help Now
Need help finding your model number?
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource for DIYers!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


You can post a question and get repair help for FREE! Click here to get started.


Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

Maytag Refrigerator Model# MFI2067AES; Crazy Electrical Issues


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 AlexM

AlexM

    Kohai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Root Beer

Posted 20 February 2014 - 02:58 PM

This Maytag Refrigerator with French doors and bottom  freezer is wacky.

 

The ice dispenser and lights on front are flashing and the flap motor is cycling constantly.

 

I can't find any obvious damage on the main board in back, and I reconnect all wires to board hoping it would reset.

 

Has anyone seen this before?  According to the customer, it might run fine for 15 minutes, but then goes to this wacky mode.

 

Manual might be handy?

 

Thanks



Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 20 February 2014 - 03:03 PM

Yep, it needs a new main control board. Not sure exactly why it does it, but I called tech support once on it and he immediately said it was the board. Changed the board and all good.

#3 KurtiusInterupptus

KurtiusInterupptus

    B.M.F.

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,823 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Killians Red

Posted 20 February 2014 - 03:10 PM

I concur with Bryan. High voltage board failure.
As every cockroach knows , thriving on poisons is the secret of success.

#4 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 28,869 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 20 February 2014 - 03:55 PM

HV control board Part number: AP4014490

Part number: AP4014490


#5 AlexM

AlexM

    Kohai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Root Beer

Posted 20 February 2014 - 04:59 PM

You Guys Rock!

 

I finally got around to donating to the beer fund.  Looooooooong over due!

 

THANKS FOR SAVING MY BACON, MORE THAN ONCE!      :thanks:   :thumbsup:



#6 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Fermented Grand Master
  • 28,869 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 20 February 2014 - 06:20 PM

Mucho mega domos for your generous love-offering to my flavorite charity, Alex!  Glad we could help!   :pint1:  :cheers:



#7 DanInKansas

DanInKansas

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 341 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Lion Imperial or Shiner Bock

Posted 21 February 2014 - 12:31 AM

I'm a broken record on this (a stuck CD?? (an MP3 file that won't buffer??)) but when you see odd electrical stuff like this, check house electrical supply.  it's been really rare I have found a problem at the wall, (maybe six or seven times in three years) but in each case, if I hadn't checked it, I'd have been stuck chasing rabbits. 



#8 AlexM

AlexM

    Kohai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Root Beer

Posted 21 February 2014 - 11:17 PM

OK, so I put the new board in, and lights stopped flashing, but no compressor or fans,etc.

 

The only thing happening is the display show 'PEO OOO' is there some sort of sequence to reset the board?

 

Any help would be appreciated.



#9 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 21 February 2014 - 11:19 PM

It needs programed I believe. Unfortunately, I don't remember the program sequence. Program number should be on your model #tag. I'll see if I can find the sequence.

Edited by BryanS, 21 February 2014 - 11:22 PM.


#10 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 21 February 2014 - 11:38 PM

-Press and hold Door Alarm
-Press and hold Freezer temperature down
-Release Door alarm keypad and wait 3 seconds
-The control will display PE to indicate the programming mode
-Entry is confirmed by pressing the freezer Temperature down keypad once more
-The control will display the current program code. This value should be validated with the Program code printed on the unit serial plate
-Press the refrigerator temperature Up keypad or refrigerator temp downpad to change the digit value
-The decimal point indicates the selected digit. Press the freezer temp up keypad to select the next digit.
-Once the desired program cide is entered press and hold the freezer temperature down until the program code starts flashing indicating it has been saved .
*Unit will not run with code 0000
http://appliantology...erator-job-aid/

Page 35 of the manual

Edited by BryanS, 21 February 2014 - 11:35 PM.


#11 AlexM

AlexM

    Kohai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Root Beer

Posted 22 February 2014 - 12:31 AM

thanks so much I will try it tomorrow



#12 AlexM

AlexM

    Kohai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Root Beer

Posted 22 February 2014 - 05:33 PM

Now I'm really stuck.

 

I did the sequence several times, and I couldn't get it out of the flashing 0000 mode.  I'm slow, but not that slow...

 

I unplugged the unit and plugged back in, any ideas on what to do next?



#13 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 22 February 2014 - 05:53 PM

May sure you are holding the correct buttons. I've gotten the freezer buttons and fridge buttons mixed up during the sequence.

#14 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 22 February 2014 - 05:57 PM

Also make sure you are keeping the freezer temp down button pressed when release the door alarm button.

#15 DanInKansas

DanInKansas

    Kohai

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 341 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Lion Imperial or Shiner Bock

Posted 22 February 2014 - 06:22 PM

Might double check your connections at the board, make sure everything is in nice and tight.  I will neither confirm nor deny that I once put a board in a Samsung and forgot to connect the UI pins before putting the cover back on and putting the unit back against the wall. 



#16 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 22 February 2014 - 06:25 PM

Might double check your connections at the board, make sure everything is in nice and tight. I will neither confirm nor deny that I once put a board in a Samsung and forgot to connect the UI pins before putting the cover back on and putting the unit back against the wall.


Haha. Been there.

#17 AlexM

AlexM

    Kohai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Root Beer

Posted 22 February 2014 - 07:32 PM

Attached File  MaytagFridge (Large).jpg   75.61KB   0 downloads OK still not there, but close.  I got it to the point that I put in the correct code 0202 in this case (see photo) and go to set the code and it beeps at me, like its a bad code...WTF?



#18 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 22 February 2014 - 07:37 PM

Did you look at the manual? I didn't type everything out because I was on my phone.
O wait beeping is an invalid code

Edited by BryanS, 22 February 2014 - 07:38 PM.


#19 BryanS

BryanS

    Senpai

  • Chief Appliantologist
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 910 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:I don't drink

Posted 22 February 2014 - 07:42 PM

You did press and hold the freezer down to set it correct? The only time I was unable to program a fridge was because the touchpad pad was bad or I did something wrong. I'm not sure what else to suggest

#20 RegUS_PatOff

RegUS_PatOff

    Sensei

  • Academy Instructor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,588 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Chief NTSC Black & White

Posted 22 February 2014 - 08:44 PM

Is there a digit at the end of the model number on the Fridge ?

What Control Board part number did you get ?


.

one of my video productions: “Easter Seals: Walk With Me”

every day is Down Syndrome Awareness Day
"A Child Is Waiting" . Burt Lancaster . Judy Garland . 1962

RegUS_PatOff > www.youtube.com/watch?v=oPAY2LsKVEw




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."

The Appliance Guru | AppliancePartsResource.com | Samurai's Blog

Real Time Analytics