Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.

Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

To get started, click here.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Maytag washer does not spin A9800

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 jndddr

jndddr

Samanera

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 22 June 2014 - 01:57 PM

Washer is 25 years old, but I'm a retired grandmother who is very attached to this machine.  I replaced the Lid Switch Assembly about five years ago because machine was dead, but no other problems (so I have limited DIY experience).

Machine made a metal-on-metal screeching noise during the spin cycle.  When I lifted the lid while it was spinning, the agitator stopped immediately, but the inner tub kept spinning while it slowed down.  Then it really got noisy and went off-balance.  The spin cycle finished because I held the outer tub in place so it stayed straight while it was spinning.  There were no leaks from the tub.  When it was empty, I was able to move and push the inner tub around inside the outer tub.  I removed the inner tub, and there was nothing in the outer tub except a little water.

Fixed the noise problem by replacing the inner tub clamping nut (part 211047) which had disintegrated.  Now the inner tub does not spin at all, but it agitates and drains normally, and there are still no leaks.  I took off the pump and drive belts, and they did not look bad, so I put them back on.  I think the drive belt might be loose and stretched out.