Jump to content



Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.


Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums


To get started, click here.


Already a member of Appliantology? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

 


Photo

brain fart ge dryer ripped off model number

dryer

29 replies to this topic

#1 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 28 June 2015 - 07:01 PM

Found this dryer next to a dumpster. I figured that I would give it a look at and try to repair it. All thermostats and thermal fuse check out good flame sensor also. I even put in a spare motor that I had laying around. Bought a timer for it. And still motor won't spin at all. Start button checks good for continuity door switch good. Practically every thing I felt like giving up on it but know I'm on a mission. I'm getting 120 to the motor and 120 to run and start windings help me out I've never seen this before
I'm trying to upload the pictures and it's saying it exceeds 500 kb but I want to upload the schematic and pics it won't let me

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 30,920 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 28 June 2015 - 07:40 PM

I'm trying to upload the pictures and it's saying it exceeds 500 kb but I want to upload the schematic and pics it won't let me

 

You can try reducing the size of the images or use the Gallery, which has a higher upload limit. 



#3 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 28 June 2015 - 08:45 PM

Attached File  2015-06-28 18.42.49.jpg   74.76KB   0 downloads

Edited by TMMCEO, 28 June 2015 - 08:50 PM.


#4 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 30,920 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 28 June 2015 - 09:04 PM

Easiest test would be to use a loading meter and see if you get 120vac from the motor common to the motor main winding connection (I can't make out the wire colors because the resolution of the photo is too small) when you press the start switch. If the loading meter doesn't light up, then you have a high resistance connection somewhere. 



#5 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 28 June 2015 - 09:08 PM

How and where can I get such a meter sensei

#6 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 30,920 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 28 June 2015 - 09:13 PM

Here.

 

But it's of limited use if you don't understand how, why, and when to use it. 



#7 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 28 June 2015 - 09:27 PM

I'm pretty sure that there's something online I can read to get a good understanding but mucho gracias senor samurai

#8 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 29 June 2015 - 12:09 PM

  That ain't no GE, it's a Whirlpool model. Is that wiring diagram W10185979 ?

 

http://appliantology...r-wiring-sheet/

 

Eric



#9 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 29 June 2015 - 12:11 PM

You are right it's an admiral actually I have a shed with junk appliances and I mistaked the manufacturer

#10 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 29 June 2015 - 12:12 PM

  Admiral made by Whirlpool



#11 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 29 June 2015 - 12:12 PM

Eric that's the schematic right there. Sir I checked out everything and it all seems good

#12 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 29 June 2015 - 12:58 PM

  Well, your missing something. When you turn the timer on to timed dry cycle and the door is closed, does the timer start advancing? (without starting the dryer). If it doesn't then it sounds like you have an open neutral. Sure about that door switch?

 

Eric



#13 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 29 June 2015 - 01:03 PM

Jumped the wires even put a new one it

#14 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

    Shōgun

  • Master Samurai Tech
  • 30,920 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 29 June 2015 - 01:09 PM

Have you verified that the power supply is good using your loading meter? Don't trust your DMM for this.

#15 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 29 June 2015 - 01:20 PM

  You didn't answer about whether the timer is advancing or not.



#16 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 29 June 2015 - 01:21 PM

If you're referring from the walk receptacle then yes I purchased the socket tester that you have in your video
Pardon me the wall receptacle

#17 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 29 June 2015 - 01:21 PM

You didn't answer about whether the timer is advancing or not.



#18 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 29 June 2015 - 02:06 PM

It's advancing
Thing that's puzzling is that the motor is getting 120 vac and no movement

#19 fairbank56

fairbank56

    Sensei

  • Appliantology Fellow
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: USA

Posted 29 June 2015 - 05:03 PM

  How are you measuring that? Are you just reading 120vac from the motor blue wire to ground? If so, that just means you have the hot side to the motor. What about neutral? You must have a complete circuit. Check the motor with a cheater cord directly across terminals 4 and 5.

 

Eric



#20 TMMCEO

TMMCEO

    Ikkō-ikki

  • Professional Appliantologist
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location: USA
  • Flavorite Brew:Heineiken

Posted 29 June 2015 - 07:19 PM

I'm measuring with a dmm. I'm getting 120 lbu to blk. Then I hit start and measure 120 vac lbu to white





1 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact


Use the Appliantology Parts Finder to Get What You Need!
Enter a model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

Your Sometimes-Lucid Host:
Samurai Appliance Repair Man
"If I can't help you fix your appliance and make you 100% satisfied, I will come to your home and slice open my belly,
spilling my steaming entrails onto your floor."


The Appliance Guru | Master Samurai Tech

Real Time Analytics