Learn appliance repair at the Samurai Tech Academy.  Learn more.  Earn more.

Parts Search
Site Search

FAQs | Store | Memberships | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Beer Fund | Contact

Welcome to Appliantology.org, the Web's Premiere Appliance Repair Resource!

The world-famous Samurai Appliance Repair Forums

To get started, click here.

Already a member of the Appliantology Academy? Just sign in with your username and password in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Photo

Whirlpool Washer won't agitate or spin (newbie question)

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 robhillyer

robhillyer

Samanera

• Grasshoppah
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 04 April 2005 - 09:22 AM

I'm sure you've gone over this a thousand times, but I'm a real newbie and not very confident. (Kudos, by the way on the awesome site)

I took off the case, removed the pump and motor (thanks to your excellent instructions) and located the drive coupler. Unfortunately it looks like the picture of the new one, not the old worn one. Now the washer is 8 years old, but there is very little wear on the coupler and none of the holes looked stretched. I know the part isn't too expensive, but I hate ordering it if it's not the problem. How can I be sure it needs to be replaced?

Use the Appliantology Parts Search Box to Find What You Need!
Enter your model number, part number, type of appliance, brand, or even a part description.
365-day return policy on all parts purchased here, even electrical parts that have been installed!

#2 Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Samurai Appliance Repair Man

Shōgun

• Master Samurai Tech
  • 29,801 posts
  • Flavorite Brew:Sapporo Original Draft Rice Lager

Posted 04 April 2005 - 09:29 AM

[user=103]robhillyer[/user] wrote:

I'm sure you've gone over this a thousand times, but I'm a real newbie and not very confident. (Kudos, by the way on the awesome site)

Good question, this one actually doesn't come up all that often.