Click here to check out our structured, online appliance repair training courses for rookies and experienced techs.

FAQs | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Podcast | Contact

Stay connected with us...

Subscribe to our YouTube channel for lots of appliance repair tips and help! Subscribe to our MST Radio podcast to learn secrets of the trade. Sign up for our free newsletter and keep up with all things Appliantology.

Anne Searles Reel

Ice Forming Under Freezer Drawer in a Samsung RF4287HARS French Door Refrigerator

Anne Searles Reel

I have ice building up in the bottom of the freezer compartment on my Samsung RF4287HARS French Door Refrigerator, below the pull out drawer. It will build up to about 3/4"-1" thick and then impedes the closing of the door. Every 4-6 weeks, I need to remove the freezer drawer, melt and chop the ice and put everything back in. I have been doing this for three years on a 5 year old fridge. Samsung Customer Service is ABSOLUTELY NO HELP.

What causes this? And can I fix it myself?

Need appliance parts? Call 877-803-7957 now!

PDuff

Sounds like a blocked defrost drain, and yes, you can fix it!

But you'll have to remove the drawer and possibly the guide rails.  Then the evaporator cover (rear panel) for the freezer.  This will allow you access the evaporator drain trough.

Carefully remove as much ice as you can using a hair dryer, heat gun or steamer if available, until the drain is exposed.  Pouring hot water into the drain should help clear any remaining ice restriction further down the tube.

Anne Searles Reel

I should add that  we replaced the ice maker about 3 months ago. While the old ice maker was broken, the ice did not form in the bottom of the freezer. As soon as we replaced it, the ice started forming again.

PDuff

I'm not seeing an icemaker in the freezer on this model.  Is it a flex tray style icemaker and is it producing ice?

Anne Searles Reel