Click here to check out this guide

FAQs | Repair Videos | Academy | Newsletter | Contact

DISCLOSURE: We may earn a commission when you use one of our coupons/links to make a purchase.
  • Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found

Refrigerator compressor ”top” broke

Fridgeguy7
Go to solution Solved by Budget Appliance Repair,

Fridgeguy7

Hello,

I have a situation with my fridge, where the plastic top/cover of the compressor of my fridge (shown in the images attached) broke off when I touched it.

The plastic has deteriorated significantly and breaks apart from even the smallest force.

I have no knowledge of fridges whatsoever, so my question regarding this topic is, is this a big deal? -After looking up the compressor, the plastic at the top doesn’t seem to come stock with the  compressor, so I don’t know of the importance of said plastic top. 

If this plastic does serve some minor-to-important role, I would be very glad to hear of it. Thanks!

B871CCB4-EDA8-416D-91FB-474FBB1F1E00.jpeg

A8389A4E-AE62-476A-AFFD-58F8FB9E3650.jpeg

F3AB4CFF-2DB7-48A3-BCE1-12B9B020F3B8.jpeg

ABF4B58A-978E-44E6-B41D-4DF7A61DCA79.jpeg

• Solution

That isn't a part of the compressor - it is a separate part.

It's the evaporator condensation drip pan to catch the water that comes off the evaporator when the refrigerator goes into a defrost cycle.

The water comes out the white plastic tube just above the pan.

A new drip pan will be listed in the parts breakdown but I can't help you any further without a model number.

If you don't replace this part you will have water leaking onto your floor behind the refrigerator every 8 hours or so when it goes into a defrost cycle.

• Like 1